Ratings based on 3,554 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chilliwack, BC

Nice hotel close to Seaworld

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Great location, close to restaurants, friendly staff and good shuttle service.
Cons: The rooms could be better insulated.
Location: Seaworld, local restaurants.
Stayed here for two nights last week. It's a great budget friendly option for hotels near Seaworld. Staff were friendly and helpful with all of our requests. One thing that's important to note is that they do have a hotel shuttle that is pretty reasonable, but you will have to call the hotel for their hours of operation. It doesn't operate on Mondays, and the other days of the week the hours vary. We were able to take the shuttle to Seaworld on the one day we went there (however we weren't able to take it back as it only ran to 4:00 on the Tuesday), and we were able to take the shuttle to the cruise terminal on the Wednesday morning/afternoon. Rooms worked really well for our family of 5, with a separate room for lounging and watching tv while the kids slept in the other room. However, the rooms were not very well insulated so if your neighbors are noisy you will hear them. Thankfully we only noticed this a couple times and it didn't really disrupt our stay much. There is a Red Lobster and a Phil's BBQ restaurant across the road from the hotel, as well as some fast food restaurants nearby (McDonalds, Wendys and Arbys), which is handy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi Greg, thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear your 2 night stay with us went well and that our staff was ready to be at your service. I'm sorry to hear you had some planning issues with the shuttle but am glad to hear you were able to visit Sea World with your family before your big cruise. We're happy to have provided you with a comfortable stay and hope to see you again the next time you stop in San Diego. Thank you again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location for me to be close to family.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: comfortable
Cons: lack of wash clothes
Location: location worked because I was close to family.
Comfortable for short stays; room was clean; and beds very comfortable; internet was NOT good; shower good; maintenance needed for closet door and shower curtain.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi there Traveller, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm glad we were able to provide you with a safe and comfortable stay during your visit. I'm sorry to hear the internet was not working as planned during your stay, we have scheduled a technician to fix this issue. I'm glad to hear our maintenance team was quick in responding to your request for a new door and shower curtain. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again the next time you're in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice hotel near to sea world

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Coffee machine and coffee, tea in my room. Free wifi, heated pool, Landry room,
Cons: 😊😊😊
Location: Sea world , zoo, ocean....
I definitely will be back. I like this place. 👍👍👍👍👍
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi Svetlana, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your visit and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: There was a one person at the front desk was very helpful! And the driver they connected us with when shuttle wasn't working was great more $$ though
Cons: No recommendations
Location: Airport, Sea World and zoo were pretty close; handful of restaurants were within walking distance, as was Target
The hotel shuttle was not reliable the first two days of our stay -- however was very cost effective once we were able to use it on the third day and final days. Hotel was willing to move us to a 2nd floor room with ease, as we were initially given a ground floor room. Greatly appreciated their flexibility. The rooms/suites were smaller and poorer lighting than expected -- our 2nd room had a more open feel to it without the door separating the 2-bedroom suites.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi Traveller, thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry to hear our shuttle service wasn't as reliable as it should have been during your first couple days. However, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room on the 2nd floor. We'll work on making sure your next visit with us is worthy of 5 stars. Thank you again for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Close to shopping areas. Only stayed one night unfortunately
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, traveller! I'm glad your enjoyed the shopping areas nearby. We're look forward to your next visit with us so you can check out some of the other awesome nearby attractions. Thanks again for the review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: walking distance to concert venue
Location: concert-minor league hockey
Hotel was decent and reasonably priced. The 14$ per vehicle parking seemed to not be on the initial booking info. One vehicle is typically free at this type of hotel. we had 2 so it was an extra 28$ for one night. we might have arranged things differently if we knew this ahead of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Nice hotel, close to several restaurants.

Posted May 10, 2017
Went down for a friend's wedding in Marina Village. Hotel was about 10 mins away. Within walking distance of places to eat and shop. Room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly, got checked in quickly. Explained the parking fee, amenities on site. It was quiet for a Sunday night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi Angie, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time at your friends wedding in Marina Village. It's always nice to hear when our guests feel we're doing a good job, thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us during your visit to San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice hotel and clean

Posted May 10, 2017
Very nice hotel. Great price. Across the street from the concert/sports/casino venue. Close proximity to airport at a great price. Would definitely recommend. Very clean. Not far from the beach and seaworld.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi Anik, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm happy to hear that you loved how close we are located to many of the nearby attractions San Diego has to offer. We take pride in being able to offer you a safe, comfortable, and affordable stay in San Diego, so it's always encouraging to hear when we're doing a great job. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Convenient location, aging facility.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location was the best feature of this property.
Cons: Attitude of the check in staff.
Location: Sea World is just down the street and around the corner.
Checking in was a process as they didn't have rooms ready at 4pm. The lady checking us in was not friendly nor pleasant. I found it interesting that they charge you $15 to park in their parking lot. The lot is nothing out of the ordinary and I didn't witness security of any sort. If the goal is to get a little extra money, just incorporate this extra fee into the price of your rooms!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Jason, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please accept my apologies for our delay in checking you in, as we want to make sure rooms are properly cleaned before we give the key to our guests. Also as a note, our parking lot overseen by our security on premises - so we always have someone looking over the parking lot. Despite your subpar experience, I hope you will consider staying with us after our ongoing renovations are complete. Thank you again for your review - which we will use to help us improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to restaurants & shopping

Posted May 8, 2017
The room i had reserved was not available at check in so was given a different type of room, without getting rate adjusted to lower prive, i was abit disappointed & the TV in yhe room didnt work :-(
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Guest, I'm sorry to hear we couldn't save you the room you reserved. If you ever find that any of your amenities are not functional, please do not hesitate to let us know at the front desk so that we may provide you an appropriate room. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to saving you one of our new rooms once our ongoing renovations are complete.