Ratings based on 3,581 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson Ca

Great hotel for family.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Enough rom to fit family of 6
Cons: Add AC or ceiling fans in 2nd room so the air can circulate better.
Location: Great location near major stores & all the major attractions in SD 10-20 min drives
1st of all hotel staff very good, helpful & friendly. I called a few days in advance to confirm room & request 1st floor room because I had a family member on crutches. Also reminded them I had party of 6. They made sure there was a sofa bed couch was in room. The pool is fine but needed more towels or have staff refill every few hours. I never saw anyone come check. The room had 1 AC & a small fan to blow to their room. Also room had a wet dog smel. Maybe the carpet got wet & never dried out properly. Overall our stay was fine. I would definitely stay here again. It was centrally close to Pacific beach, Seaworld, Old Town SD, Gaslamp district & 5 freeway entrance. There is also a swap meat across the Street & best BBQ "Phil's. Target near block too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near Old Town San Diego

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Customer service was great and room cleanliness as well. The facility is run down and old. The towel rack in the restroom is rusted and you can see the brown rust instead of silver and the mattress was not very comfortable. Overall, the location is great, it has easy access to the Hwy and points of interest. They just need to replace the old furniture because the paint in the furniture is coming off as well as the old rusted towel rack and mattress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Nothing bad to say. Its a great hotel very clean and location is wonderful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel close to sea world and old town

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Upon arrival front staff was very courteous and friendly. Parking spaces are extremely right. Room had weird smell, could've been A.C. unit that was leaking. A.C. shut off in middle of night making room humid and hot. King size bed was hard and lumpy. Bunk beds a plus for those with kids. Has mini fridge and microwave for convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2017
We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite which is nice. Unlike the room with the bunk beds this room has two televisions and a door that separates the bedroom from a he living room. The living room does have a couch that pulls out into a bed. The furniture was older but it was clean and comfy. The linens and bed were updated. It's not 4 star but worth it for the price, space and location. It is directly across the street from Vons supermarket which was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kids loved the bunkbed

Posted Jun 22, 2017
The room is nice and clean, King bed was clean, nice and comfy. The kids liked the bunk beds in the room. The room had 1 tv and the furniture itself needs some updating. The staff was friendly and helpful. The parking spots are pretty close together but there is plenty of parking. The bathroom was clean and the room did have a fridge and microwave. I will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Ok place

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Ok for what we paid for, but I thought it'd be better for that price. The area is ok but questionable. Pool was great for my kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Pesky Flies

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: Get rid of the flies!
Location: Great location near beaches, SeaWorld, and downtown.
Although our room seemed clean and comfortable, there were these little flies or gnats that were bothersome. The hotel staff was very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Poor upkeep, unsafe area for families.

Posted May 31, 2017
Approached by 2 homeless people, 2 separate times, just getting out of my car. They were not mean, just asking for money. There was a man standing at the corner of the building just staring at people. Not recommended for families. Loud noises (?shots) in the middle of the night. Numerous people out in parking lot at night. Stayed on bottom floor and heard running back and forth upstairs. Beds very uncomfortable/ flimsy mattress. Flimsy (worst Ever experienced) pillows. They charge for parking, but never saw any security. When asked for refund because didn't feel safe and was unhappy with the experience, the hotel DENIED REFUND. Expedia was able to get us in a different room. This was my worst experience ever!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chilliwack, BC

Nice hotel close to Seaworld

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Great location, close to restaurants, friendly staff and good shuttle service.
Cons: The rooms could be better insulated.
Location: Seaworld, local restaurants.
Stayed here for two nights last week. It's a great budget friendly option for hotels near Seaworld. Staff were friendly and helpful with all of our requests. One thing that's important to note is that they do have a hotel shuttle that is pretty reasonable, but you will have to call the hotel for their hours of operation. It doesn't operate on Mondays, and the other days of the week the hours vary. We were able to take the shuttle to Seaworld on the one day we went there (however we weren't able to take it back as it only ran to 4:00 on the Tuesday), and we were able to take the shuttle to the cruise terminal on the Wednesday morning/afternoon. Rooms worked really well for our family of 5, with a separate room for lounging and watching tv while the kids slept in the other room. However, the rooms were not very well insulated so if your neighbors are noisy you will hear them. Thankfully we only noticed this a couple times and it didn't really disrupt our stay much. There is a Red Lobster and a Phil's BBQ restaurant across the road from the hotel, as well as some fast food restaurants nearby (McDonalds, Wendys and Arbys), which is handy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Brenda G. , Hotel Management
Hi Greg, thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear your 2 night stay with us went well and that our staff was ready to be at your service. I'm sorry to hear you had some planning issues with the shuttle but am glad to hear you were able to visit Sea World with your family before your big cruise. We're happy to have provided you with a comfortable stay and hope to see you again the next time you stop in San Diego. Thank you again for your feedback.