Ratings based on 5,820 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017
The location and access to the airport and all the fun San Diego sites was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernonia OR

Amazing location

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Location: The bay is literally across the street. The pirate ships across the street shot off cannons which was very cool. There are museums very close as well.
The location of the hotel was great! The area was beautiful, the hotel was clean, and the beds were super comfortable. I look forward to future stays.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it was nice

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: it is very quit
Cons: put refrigerator in rooms for free I think we pay enough and plus traveling.
Location: the ocean is so beautiful, the boats, shopping walking distance and walking areas.
the rooms do not have refrigerator this the first time, I have stayed in a hotel and there is not refrigerator. to put one in the room $10 a day is that total greedy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel near everything. Close to the trolley

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Nice hotel in a great location! Very clean. Pleasant staff. Comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Location and view was great, service not so much

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Location and the view! Gorgeous!
Cons: Customer service and maintenance
Location: there is literally everything nearby. The most expensive uber we had to pay was around $8. You have Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter and Seaport Village
I absolutely loved the view and area of this location, but the hotel staff was a little disappointing when it came to customer service (except for the valet). The rest of the staff were very short & confusing when it came to room keys when I asked for them to hold one of my guest's keys in the front while me and the rest of my group went to dinner (they had to meet up with us later due to their work schedule). My guest ended up having to wait till we got back from dinner to get the right room key. Also the front desk told her the wrong floor of our room. Also contacting the front desk was an issue due to the difficulty to get a hold of someone when our shower head fell off while my spouse was showering and also when my guests had to call security because another hotel guest was harassing them trying to get into their room. I also thought it was messed up that I was charged an additional $1.80 for the phone call that we made for security. I don't feel I should have been charged for an emergency like that. Also the hotel itself needs maintenance. It's pretty outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix,Arizona

Hotel very convenient for race weekend.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
I loved the location of the hotel and the convenience of it being at the finish line of the marathon. It would have been great to have access to a hot tub to relax after the marathon. I also understand the role of certain employees, but it gets uncomfortable when you are being hounded by sales associates to listen to a pitch about time shares every time you pass by them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Overpriced

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The room was spacious.
Cons: The STAFF is the main issue--almost every problem I had was directly related to staff.
Location: Location is ok--very close to the airport. Definitely on the outskirts of things to do, but it's not a far walk to Little Italy or Seaport Village.
Having staying in every kind of accommodation from hostels to 4 star hotels in the past 2 weeks, the Wyndham Bayside in San Diego was by far the most disappointing hotel of my entire trip! From the time I pulled up and saw the dirty garage to when I checked in, I was met with one disappointment after another. After being checked in, I was directed to a desk to pick up a "welcome gift," AKA get signed up for a timeshare presentation. Since the paperwork said the presentation was no longer than 120 mins, and I'd receive 3 days/2 nights free in exchange, I agreed. Then I went to my room--bathroom wasn't completely clean, heater was broken, and the wifi didn't work. The next day, no one even made my room! The timeshare presentation was a complete crock--looooong story short, they salesman was RUDE, going so far as to degrade me for being a single woman, and he wouldn't sign me out of the presentation for a FULL HOUR after the rest of my group was allowed to leave. I ended up missing my surfing lesson because of his inconsideration, and the hotel did NOTHING to compensate me for this. I will NEVER book a Wyndham property again. This was one of the most expensive hotels I stayed in, but it was by far the worst experience. "You get what you pay for" did NOT hold true in this case.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redlands

The ac was not working when we got there.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The tub was clogged, the maintenance person left our room door open after he fixed these items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

I will consider this hotel for future visit SAN

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Free airport and selected attraction shuttles
Cons: In-room Wifi. 1) it does not work with my iPhone. So I end up using data plan 2) On my laptop, it works in the first morning. Does not work next day
Location: Sea front has a nice view and boats!
- room is clean and bed is comfortable. - somewhat inconvenient since my room is in the annex instead of main hotel - great front desk, she changes my 2-beds room to one king size bed - concierge is kind and effective
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Horrible hotel, nice location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Mostly everything could be improved
Not very pleasant. $29/day parking, but no spaces. Hotel still charges you whether you park there or not. We could hear every noise in other rooms. There were smells coming through. Toilet was leaking and the drain was clogged, but noone fixed it.