Primary image

Reviews of Andaz San Diego - a concept by Hyatt

4 out of 5
Andaz San Diego - a concept by Hyatt
600 F Street, San Diego, CA

Overall score and ratings

4.3

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 574 out of 989 reviews
5 - Excellent 58%
Rating 4 - Good. 250 out of 989 reviews
4 - Good 25%
Rating 3 - Okay. 98 out of 989 reviews
3 - Okay 10%
Rating 2 - Poor. 44 out of 989 reviews
2 - Poor 4%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 23 out of 989 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.6/5

Cleanliness

4.5/5

Staff & service

4.2/5

Amenities

4.5/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.2/5

Eco-friendliness

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Hotel was clean inside. There were not as many options as I hoped for. Not as much access to food service as I hoped for in room in evening either. Location was so so. I was not unhappy, but I don't think it was worth the price at all. Room was definitely smaller than it looked in pics.
Stayed 1 night in May 2022
Response from Tonia on May 17, 2022
Brandon, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful and comfortable stay!
Stayed 1 night in May 2022
Response from Tonia on May 17, 2022
Hello Brandon, Thank you for the awesome review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a message. Hoping we see you again!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The staff was helpful when we ran into a few problems. We ate at the restaurant and had a hair in our food and the manager was very helpful and understanding. Dissapointed that there was no jacuzzi by the pool or a bathtub in the room but besides that our stay was nice, housekeepers did a great cleaning job & hotel staff & valet was very friendly.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Toya on May 10, 2022
Hello Kylie, Thank you for leaving a review. We are so sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay, but glad to hear that they were quickly resolved. We appreciate your feedback and will use it as we make continuous improvements to our hotel. We hope that you will return soon. Best Regards, Toya

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I loved this hotel so much, the staff was genuinely nice and the place was beautiful. Definitely staying here for all my future San Diego trips.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Donna on Apr 29, 2022
Greetings Ameerat, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel; we appreciate that! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you love our hotel; we do to. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Cheers! Best Regards, Donna

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel is overall in poor condition as far as the room went. Dirty warn carpet-terrible views. The number one issue is the lack of staff and the friendliness. Had an issue with not being able to use a portion of the trip that was paid for and the front desks response was basically oh well. Their customer service is terrible. I would never recommend this place to anyone.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Anisa on Apr 23, 2022
Hello Glenn, Please allow me to apologize for the less than perfect Hyatt experience. This is not consistent with standards and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your feedback has been shared with our entire management team, and we will evaluate ways to improve our operation. We would love to gather further details and address your concerns via our social media or chat channels. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to have an opportunity to provide a better stay in the near future. Kind Regards,

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
We got a king bed and our room was extremely small! There is a glass door between the bathroom and room so there is no privacy. There were several homeless people outside our window. Our faucet was leaking. The STK at the Andaz was disappointing. Maybe I have high expectations with fine dining because I’m from Las Vegas, but definitely not going back to the hotel or STK. Their ceviche lacked in flavor, aside from being 3 bites! The lobster pasta and filet were just ok. My friends and I wanted to go to the rooftop after dinner and it was closed. The reason why I picked this hotel was because I thought we could hang out at the rooftop for drinks and a nice view. Not a good experience for the amount we paid.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Amazing stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
The front desk did not tell us about the “destination fee.” We we’re actually okay to pay the fee but they did not tell us the amenities that included in it like kayak, and other good stuff. We found this out on the check out day. Also, they did not have the room that we paid for through Expedia, so they made us call Expedia saying that Expedia needs to pay for the upgrade fee.. but after 2 hours of dealing with this, the manager decided to waive the upgrade fee. PARKING is terrible !! The hotel offers NO PARKING other than valet , $52/day. They do NOT validate either !
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Easily accessible, clean and well presented. Reception staff were very helpful.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was very nice. The facility was clean. Staff was very friendly. I would recommend staying here to others.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Front desk receptionist were very helpful and made my check in experience easy. Rooms were very clean and quite, great location to many restaurants and bars at a walking distance.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Great!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the Andaz hotel in Hollywood, and this property is great as well! Great location, roof top restaurant and lively rooms!
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Check in was horrendous. The lead checking me in was not customer centric or attempted to help with the 2.5 hour delay to my check in. Lastly, the rooms are dirty! Remotes are not sanitized and the couch in my suite had a massive stain. Overall, don’t come here find another high end hotel.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I called to see if they’re rooftop pool is heated and they said it is till 82 degrees. Upon arrival we were told the heater is broken so the water wasn’t swimmable. There was no jacuzzi so this was disappointing. There’s also no parking and valet is 52$ a night. Ended up paying 600$ for two nights.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
The hotel room was clean and comfortable but very small and is in need of some upgrades. The hotel does not offer room service which would have made the experience a lot better, especially because it was raining during our stay and we had to leave the hotel for all of our meals. The only restaurant attached to the hotel is a high-end trendy steakhouse. We attempted to dine and have drinks at the rooftop bar, however when we arrived at the time they were supposed to be open, there were no staff members there. The staff for the most part were friendly.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It’s very walkable to Balboa Park and Gaslamp. However there are not any vegan options at STK which is disappointing when you travel to the city known for Vegan food. Gaslamp district also very limited on Vegan food options. Property is nice overall.
Stayed 6 nights in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Always Andaz
I always choose Andaz for both work and pleasure. Consistently high quality. Simple put, I know what I will get and that’s great service, great accommodations, and great location.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Everyone was really helpful, hotel is expensive but worth it to be in the gas lamp quarter
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Modern concept, nice layout, comfortable
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021
Response from Centric TS on Dec 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are pleased to read of your positive experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Hotel in a Awesome Location
This is a fun hotel to stay in. They have great customer service and the rooms are nice. The rooftop pool and roof area is the highlight of this property though. The room itself was a little beat up with some wear and tear as well as the shower taking approximately 15 minutes to warm up. All of this can be expected from a "party hotel".
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
It was an OK experience
Pros: Good location. Good access to nearby restaurants and tourist places. Cons: Check-in process was not great. We arrived an hour early before scheduled check-in but still didn't get the room at 4 PM. There is no information shared whatsoever regarding the cleaning schedule or housekeeping schedule. Trash was not picked up for 3 days. Saw that they were offering complimentary beverages to guests but nothing for us at all.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel is very upscale modern. Easy check in. The outside street noise level was extremely loud until 2am. Not much sleep was had.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
So loud from the music
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Overall good!
Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Amazing rooftop restaurant. Great location. The complimentary adult beverage upon checking and free bottled water was a nice touch.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
First time and the room and hotel was beautiful
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Unfortunate night stay at the Andaz
Unfortunately, our stay was sub par come the end of the evening when the smell of the furnace came on and proceeded to get worse. Maintenance supported our needs but was unable to fix the situation. We also were unable to move into another room due to lack of availability and full occupancy. This led us to leave around midnight to head home after hoping to enjoy the one night stay for my birthday.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Very nice hotel, great rooftop, not so great beds.
Very nice hotel and great people that are very welcoming and helpful. My only complaint was I did not find the bed very comfortable at all - made for rough nights sleeping. Pillows were not great either.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Shower facility was bad
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Awesome!
Amazing room, roof top and service. I recommend this hotel highly! Super convenient to everything also.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Emelina Ramirez on Dec 19, 2021
Glad you had a great time! We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel was modern in a central location.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Emelina Ramirez on Dec 19, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. In the event that you decide to book with us again please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Really cute hotel. Welcome beer upon arrival definitely a bonus. Wish there was a jacuzzi and that the pool bar didn’t close in the middle of the day. Overall would stay again.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Ask questions
When booking though Hotels.com I’ve noticed in the last few stays these rooms are usually placed over noisy restaurants (STK) and just below rooftop lounges and near service elevators and service doors. When checking it ask for quite room. We travelled with our 2 dogs and this is a dog friendly hotels however no dog amenities We we’re not told at check in about the complimentary Cold Coffee & Beer Keg available to all guests in lobby.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021

2/5 Poor

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
Terribly noisy at night , can’t get restful sleep.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This hotel was very nice. From the moment we got out of our Uber the valet opened the door for us and Thomas greeted us at the front desk. He was very helpful with recommendations for things to do, places to go, and places to eat nearby. If we ever come back to San Diego I will stay here again.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2021