Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, CA

Boutique Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cool vibe. The rooftop deck has amazing views, an awesome fire pit, good but limited food menu, and super friendly wait staff.
Cons: No hot water in bathroom sink. Hot water took forever to get to shower and it was very wasteful to have to run water for at least 2 minutes.
Location: Balboa Park is amazing! An absolute must. Several museums, an arboretum, plaza with sparking fountain, cactus and rose gardens. Urban gem!
I had a corner room on the second floor and it was very noisy (traffic, people exiting hotel and coming up from Gaslamp district when bars closed. The room was dated (they are redoing all the rooms) but very clean. The housekeeping was excellent. They restocked the free water and the Keurig cups for the in-room coffee maker daily. The wifi was not very good if you like to stream music or need to upload/download files (slow as heck). Nice Samsung wall mount flat screen with excellent reception and decent channel selection. If you want a good deal, book now. Once they get all the rooms re-done I imagine the rates are going to go way up. Overnight parking rate at hotel is $45 per day so I would suggest leaving car behind and either flying taking train to avoid that. Lyft cars are great and inexpensive. Ask for an interior room or a higher floor to avoid street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and good staff

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Overall was good but just a bit to noisy in early mornings
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location but Hotel is Going Downhill

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This used to be a great hotel with a wine bar and excellent service. Now the wine bar is gone, and we had a horrible sewage smell in our room the whole time. The hotel sent up a handy man but nothing was fixed. When we checked out, the man at the front desk just said they'd look in to it before the next guests arrived. Not worth spending the big bucks here anymore!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to dining/clubbing destinations

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Use windows with better soundproof effect!
The hotel is in a great location if you are a fan of clubs and restaurants. It also has a fancy rooftop bar which gets really busy in the evening. However, this location also means too much noise, especially during weekend nights. We stayed on the 4th floor, went to bed at 1AM on Saturday but couldn't fall asleep until 3AM ish because of the noise downstairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Dieg

Great location, but not very clean

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Orbitz
The location was great as the hotel is very close to restaurants, bars, and shopping. The $45 for parking is a little ridiculous combined with the room not being very clean. You can do better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, USA

Pleasant, Hip Hotel in Downtown San Diego

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, Lovely decor in the lobby, the roof bar and breakfast area.
Cons: Bathroom items.
Location: Lots of restaurants and close to the convention center and the gaslight district. Nice location.
I was at a meeting, so I didn't spend much time with the facilities. But what I did see was very nice. The staff were VERY nice and accomodating -- I give them high accollades. The room itself was relatively quiet (we were on the inside, overlooking an atrium). The problem was with the bathroom -- very poorly designed. The light over the sink was 5 watts, so I couldn't shave. The shower/toilet room had major leaks, and every shower ended up with tons of water on the toilet floor. Since there wasn't adequate shelving, clothes on the floor were soaked. But the biggest problem were the glass doors (one clear, one scinterred). I happened to catch a cold, but I couldn't go into the bathroom at night to take medicine because the lamp in the shower/toilet room lit up the entire hotel room, disturbing my traveling companion. Please put non-glass doors on!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was Ok

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Our room was beautiful and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: What bothered me the most is the roaches at the Rooftop restaurant/Lounge area. I was looking forward to eating breakfast and relaxing there. The view was gorgeous but as I went to sit in the pool side area, I almost stepped on a Roach. Apparently this has been an issue for a few months as Yelp had reviews about it as well.
Location: Location is good, no issues.