Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Cons: Continental breakfast. Not many options.
Overall a good stay. Friendly staff and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Up in the cool air

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location and condition.
Cons: Small breakfast area.
Location: Up in the cool air but 30 minutes from downtown San Diego.
We have been staying here for the last 11 years when we come down to visit. It's a nice change to be able to get out of the city up where the air is a bit cooler and where it's less crowded. Although it's an older remodel and the style might seem a bit dated you can't fault them for the condition of the property, it's kept up with great attention to detail, it's super clean and shows no wear. Nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Hotel right I-8, easy to find, but not overly noisy. Located in a shopping area with restaurants in walking distance. Room was not large but big enough for family of 5. The door is exterior. Able to drive back and forth to San Diego easily.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Great hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Everything was great. Check in was fast and easy. The hotel is in a shopping center with a fast food restaurant, a bank, and some small shops but it was quiet. It felt like a safe neighborhood. There was plenty of parking. The hotel has a pool, it is a little small but cute. The breakfast was lacking, cereal boxes and Danishes, but it was ok. It's 25 minutes from SDSU but it's a straight shot on I8 and it's right off the freeway. It was quiet, I wasn't disturbed by any other guests. It was pleasant and I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect place since it's so close to Viejas casino

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Third time staying here,we love it! It's clean and comfortable.Staff is friendly and professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florence Colorado

Cute lodge convenient to Alpine

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Comfortable bed. Broken shower, not hot wster, no condiments for inroom coffee, large wet spot on carpet. Minimalal breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Helene, Thank you for your kind compliments and feedback. My most sincere apologies for the many inconsistencies you faced during your stay. We can only hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future to demonstrate how great a stay with us can be. Sincerely, Larry Clark General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Three week stay

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Good location for mountains & half hour from downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ayres Lodge Alpine. I am delighted to read of your enjoyment of the local area and our proximity to local attractions. We invite you to stay anytime you find yourself in Alpine! Sincerely, Larry Clark General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Cute

Posted May 27, 2016
Quick check in and helpful with things to do. Resturant walking distance
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words about our accommodating front desk team members! I do hope you will be visiting Ayres Lodge Alpine again soon. Sincerely, Larry Clark General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Stay

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Had work in El Segundo so I stayed further out of San Diego for some remoteness and was very pleased with this location. Breakfast was not overwhelming but it was fine to get the day started. Asked about a mexican restaurant near by and neither staff knew there was one in the plaza attached to the property which was strange. Would definitely stay here again if on business in the area.
5 out of 5
by Mari from Vancouver, WA

Just perfect!

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful room, gem of a hotel!