Ratings based on 2,560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice was near to Sea World but disappointing.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: The view , beds were comfee ,great for families. People were nice.
Cons: W hole place seamed old and our room really needed to be upgraded. Rug was stained, tile in the bathroom needed cleaning, the Windows were filthy.
Location: Our view was great and close to Sea World.
Was ok we where only there to sleep. Seamed good for families and that was nice. But overall it just seamed old and in need of a major facelift. Dining and food experience was nice. People were very friendly. The room was not worth what I paid for it, glad I booked through Expedia because I would have been upset to pay more for what we experienced. I have stayed in much nicer places for a lot less money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

great place, great location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: location, amenities, staff. loved the little private beach area and covered sun chaise
Cons: the living room furniture in the room was pretty worn could use refresh. But bed was very comfortable and amenities ere great
Location: location is perfect. quick walf to Mission Beach, tons of estaurants shops and Belmont Park. Also close to Pacific Beach....a healthy walk or short ca
Front desk agent was very nice, even though expedia didn't have us in the correct room type, she found us the room we needed and gave us a free upgrade. Loved everything about the place will be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nicely located hotel .. Not the greatest service

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The room was very nice and the check in was easy.. The location is great .. One incident happened.. Where we had a request for an early morning breakfast to be delivered to the room .. We woke up the next day with the hotel having no idea about our request! The worst part is that they didn't apologize and they said that we'll have to wait for 40 minutes if we still want that breakfast! Which we refused as we didn't want to waste our time waiting for breakfast,, that they might forget about again! Overall nice hotel,, but terrible room service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Great location; spacious room.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Great; Mission Beach; Luigi restuarant.
The resort was easy to find in a great location within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Mission Beach. San Diego centre and zoo only a 20 minute easy drive. Received upgrade due to expedia and the room was spacious with a bay view. Swimming pool area nice and complimentary trip on paddle boat across bay a pleasant surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Right on the beach with bike rentals, paddle boards, and kayaks for rent on the property.
Second time we've stayed here and really enjoy the hotel and the setting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Friendly staff would make a difference

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Bell staff, food, central location.
Cons: Rooms smelled musty. The remedy was to spray so much air freshner that we had to air the room to get rid of that smell.
Location: Well situated in a busy tourist area. Nothing special beyond what can be seen on the San Diego website. Close to Sea World.
Good food from restaurant and room service! Based on reviews, we believed it would be a friendly, low key place that was good value for the price. If we were staying at a motel, I'd think it was wonderful. But to me, "resort" implies providing guests not only with physical comfort in a room but a caring attitude. The front desk staff was always hurried, not informative and close to dismissive. The young bellman assigned to "Guest Services" (despite the sign, not trained as a 'conceirge), was friendly but knew little about the area. He was able to access a list which we could have done via Yelp or other reviews. But his friendly manner was this hotel's saving grace. No information about the resort was offered when we checked in; the information about the resort in the room was outdated. Felt as if we stayed at a well situated motel where we were on our own to navigate the resort and the area -- even when we asked good questions. A request for an hour's delay in check out was approved by checking with an unseen manager, but the desk person sharply told me we should be sure not to take a minute more than the hour. This request was not an accomodation but a grudging response. We left an hour early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leipzig

Hotelanlage ist etwas in die Jahre gekommen.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Zimmer soweit o.k.
Cons: Unbedingt: Poolöffnungszeiten früh! Restaurant moderner
Location: Sehr gute Lage unweit vom Hauptstrand von San Diego
Es fehlt etwas der moderne Pfiff in dieser wunderschönen Gesamtanlage. Das der Pool erst um 08:00 Uhr öffnet macht das Hotel für Frühsportler sehr unattraktiv! Restaurant könnte etwas zügiger bedienen und Speisekarte ist zu gewöhnlich - es fehlt der Pfiff, das gewisse etwas andere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Great location!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Very convenient location,great staff,restaurant but the rooms in a building with four floors need to be upgraded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Our Short stay by the Bay

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The rooms had small kitchens cut down on meal expenses. Free Parking did I mention Free Parking. Free Video Games for kids. Free ride on Bahia Belle
Cons: The Jets in Hot Tub could be stronger
Location: Belmont Park, Mission Beach and The Wave House Hotel is very Close to Sea World
Our room was great! The view of Mission Bay outside was nice. We walked to Beach every day, we didn't have to worry about parking at beach. My son fell in love with the Wave House/ The Flow Barrel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel great location

Posted Aug 18, 2015
I would recommend this hotel it's great if you have kids tons of activities walking distance to Mission Bay Beach.