Ratings based on 1,869 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super close to the beach with great view

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Free breakfast
Location: Friendship bell at the end of shelter island, lots of sightseeing spots to admire the beach and docks, there is Phil's bbq very popular place
Overall great stay, staff were accommodating. Just minor noises from upstairs, but if you turn on the AC/Fan you can barely hear any noise. You can literally walk to the beach has some really great sightseeing areas nearby - friendship bell, docks, boats, ocean breeze. The pool was clean and heated (nice when it is semi-cold). The room was spacious and clean. Only one issue is that there was a wet spot on the floor/carpet - must be from a leak somewhere. $10 parking fee per night, but no problem with parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Mike Ardelt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I checked on the wet carpet and it was from cleaning spots by the refrigerator. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Mike Ardelt, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great View, awesome area.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
This is a very nice Hotel on Shelter Island, a very nice part of San Diego,. The hotel room itself was clean but the amenities could use updating. The TV remote didn't turn the TV on or off, you had to pay for parking even though you were staying there, seems most hotels are doing this now. We had a nice stay, great view to wake up to in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice and beautiful view from the room

Posted Jun 11, 2016
We had very relaxing time because of nice ocean view from the balcony. Thanks to the Expedia for introducing this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadea CA

Nice location, beautiful view.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
We arrived 2 hrs early and we were able to go to our room right away. The hotel was nice and lean. We just loved the marina view. Just breathtaking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted May 26, 2016
Beautiful clean relaxing room with a view of the marina directly outside the window. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future! Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Close to the beach yes, nothing fancy here

Posted May 17, 2016
Hotel is somewhat dated and so are the rooms. No pay per view tv or much of anything else. Ordered room service two drinks cost 25 bucks. Of course that included the ordinary 18 percent gratuity plus $3.oo more for room service regardless of service. But if you need a place to stay for the night it sure is better than motel 6
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, MA

Quiet, away from the bustle

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness
The views were incredible, and the hotel staff were amazing. I needed some documents printed off my thumbdrive, and the guest PC did not have the program needed to open and print them. The staff took my thumbdrive into the office, and printed out my needed documents right there. They were extremely polite, and graciously called me cabs to the Convention Center each morning.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from AZ

Shelter Island stay

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was nice as was the staff. However, it was recommended that we choose the harbor/bay view to see the ships pass. Sounded like a good idea but in fairness I feel someone should have mentioned the (frequent) military helicopter traffic noise that one experiences on this side!! If you are in this part of San Diego for an event or for the Marina, this hotel is a great choice. Otherwise, I'd stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelanton CA

Nice hotel, views of beach and marina beautiful.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Quite and peaceful, beautiful views of the beach and the marina. Close to all activities we needed during our trip.
Cons: Room was not ready on time. We had to wait and staff said they would call when it was ready, but we never received a call.
Location: Close to all activities we were in town to attend, but secluded enough to be out of the way and peaceful
Quite and peaceful experience. Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff was good, but room was not ready on time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2016 by Mike Ardelt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your room was not ready on time and that we dropped the ball in contacting you. I will work with Front Desk and Housekeeping to make sure we get that right in the future.
5 out of 5
by Andrew C.

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Mike Ardelt, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review Andrew! We hope to have the privilege of being your host again. Please tell your friends!