Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very nice but because of the location a littlr noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barstow ca

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Very nice stay at the beach haven, it is just about a minute from the beach very close to pier in pacific beach and death pubs&eaterys pizza places and shopping all just minutes away I will stay again 🏄🏖🌮🛒🌊🍓❤️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Would Definitely Stay Again

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to the beach, free parking, free wifi, friendly staff, clean, comfortable
Cons: A baking sheet of some sort to use in the oven would have been a lifesaver! :)
Location: The beach! Restaurants. We loved SD Taproom and Dirty Birds. Other SD places were all a very reasonable drive away. (USS Midway, Cabrillo, etc.)
Only a block from the beach, and newly renovated, we loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and available. Our room was clean and comfortable. We upgraded to the room with the kitchen and were so glad we did. It was only a $10 upgrade, but we were able to have a hot, leisurely breakfast in our room every morning as well as a full pot of coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The hotel has a great location and it's newly renovated so the rooms are clean and fresh. The stuff was great too! They even called to make sure we were going to make it to check in since it ends at 10pm. overall we were all pleasantly surprised since it was pretty cheap compared to others in the area and we didn't know what to expec:
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd little hotel.

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Parking situation is horrible, we had to park on the street the first night. The second night, we parked on the little parking they had on the side of the hotel, but you had to walk all the way around to the main entrance to get in. The rooms are nothing fancy, just the bare minimum. Two beds, a small desk and a small bathroom. No dresser, no coffee maker, no hair dryer, no mini fridge, no microwave. We had a room with two queen beds. The housekeeping made one bed and emptied the trash containers. They left one bed un-made and did not touch the bathroom. The beds were very firm (which I don't mind, just giving a head's up if you don't like them that way). The area seemed nice, walking distance from the beach, and the hotel was quiet. The price was reasonable---but you get what you pay for. We won't be going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great place - very convenient for what I wanted to do...only negative - could not get wi-fi/internet connection to work, and people in the office couldn't help me. This needs to be fixed so it's very easy to connect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Spa

Posted Nov 20, 2016
A young Dad let his two 6 year-old daughters play in the pool partially unsupervised; they sometimes screamed so loudly one of the guests came out to see what was causing the ruckus, then closed her windows. Later, he brought his 15 month old baby in the jacuzzi (where I was) despite a clearly visible posting saying 'no children under 5 allowed in the spa.' This all occurred about 8:45pm, far too late for children to be swimming anyway. Management had to have heard the noise and should have put a stop to it, and asked the noisy children to leave the area. Very disappointing. It soured what was otherwise a perfect stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious motel

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay. Very affordable in a wonderful location. Our only complaint is that the walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors movements and conversations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Our motel of choice on the south coast

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The motel is an older property but well maintained with updated features. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with great beds and even better pillows. It's a block from the beach and surprisingly quiet for being on a main street. It's easy walking distance to many good eateries. (We enjoyed Mexican fish tacos, Thai red curry and "to die for" breakfast, all within a couple of blocks.) It's small enough that the staff seem more like hosts than just people who work there. they are friendly and helpful and really enjoy welcoming you to their motel.
Cons: Our room was cozy (a bit small) which didn't leave room for a chair and table. Not really a problem. We sat in bed to read in the evening and I know there are rooms with more space. If that's important to you, ask.