Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great facility

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Enjoyed the access to beach and the size of room together with balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying on the beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Awesome place. Have stayed there before, and it's always great. Staff is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Oregon

Posted Apr 4, 2017
We enjoyed the beach experience that the Terrace offered.Convenient access to a quality beach.The room was spacious.The beach staff were very nice,as well as the lobby.We will be back next time we are looking to enjoy a relaxing week at one of southern California's best beaches!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So CA

Wonderful hotel ON the beach!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: The view and the great room.
Location: Two short blocks from the Carlsbad Village with a ton of shops and restaurants.
A small wonderful hotel sitting right on the beach in Carlsbad. Beautiful view from a spacious, comfortable room, nice free breakfast with an awesome ocean view from the dining lounge, friendly staff and immaculate grounds. Nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of pounding surf!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Nice place right on the beach with ocean view room

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Ocean view room is huge! Beds were really comfortable as far as hotel beds go. Bathroom was spacious! Huge shower. Separate vanity sink.
Cons: Had an issue with the satellite TV, there was no signal and someone had to come and fix it for us.
Location: Hotel is right on the beach. Walking distance to the main part of town has lots of shops & restaurants and Carlsbad is a neat town.
Room right on the beach with an ocean view room! Had a nice deck from the room with lounge chairs so you don't have to actually go out on the beach. Hotel also has lounge chairs available if you want to lounge on the beach. They also have surfboards available. Nice pool area with many places to lounge as well. The pool was heated and warmer than the ocean. Hot tub was really nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Overpriced but paying for the view.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Pool area is nice and the rooms are huge. Walkable to restaurants (no restaurant or bar).
Cons: Charging $40/night for a crappy roll-away bed is ridiculous. La Jolla Shores Hotel does not charge for theirs and they are actual mattresses.
Rooms are huge with nice views. Cold breakfast is okay but not a selling point...nothing special. Coffee was weak. The beach is pretty but bear in mind its a steep beach break and not great for body surfing or boogie boarding if you have kids. La Jolla or Pacific Beach is much better for the that. Interactions with the staff were awkward but friendly. Check in was 4pm but they were still cleaning our room at 4pm. They did allow us to use facilities before check in which was nice. At the price point, I wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
You can enjoy the beach and pool and then walk to shops and restaurants. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette,CO

Loved the location, staff and overall vibe

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff, location and service.
Cons: Nicer mattresses, softer towels, better water pressure in showers - but that's being really picky.
Location: Lots of restaurants in walking distance, coffee shops, you are literally right on the beach! Easy to do day outings to San Diego with a rental car
Such a great place to go to chill out! Lots of stuff within walking distance, you're right on the beach, and the breakfast is nicely done. We'd definitely consider staying there again. The beds are comfy but I think their idea of pillow top mattress differs than most - it's just a mattress cover with a little extra cushion. The pillow "library" is great though. The staff are very eager to please, friendly and go the extra mile without hesitation. Definitely recommend. It's not the Ritz but it's plenty nice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, Az

Right on the beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Staff was all extremely friendly. Pool area could have been better. There is only on jacuzzi that only fits six. It was always busy and we could never get any relaxing time in it. Lots of stairs. Wish there had been an elevator down to the bottom level. Our tv didn't work at all. It turned on but couldn't get any channels. You could hear neighbors really well. Poor ventilation. It smelled like someone was smoking weed in our room. All we can think is that it was coming from the bathroom upstairs or next to us. For the money paid to stay here I expected a little more. The continental breakfast was just blah. We stayed at a comfort inn and suites right before staying here and their breakfast was amazing. It was a let down that this one was so blah. Really beautiful beach but honestly I would probably not Stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Beautiful hotel on the sand with friendly accommodating staff! We stayed in an oceanfront king. Our room was spacious with comfortable balcony overlooking the ocean. We will definitely come back!