Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Had to upgrade to get what we had wanted. The room was excellent. The big negative was no elevator only stairs to get to the room. Loved the view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Comfortable inn close to everything

Posted Sep 23, 2016
A perfect short stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was surprisingly upscale/updated. Steps away from a wonderful sandy beach and quaint Old Carlsbad. Amazing restaurant options within 3 blocks - our car remained parked during the stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Too much chlorine in the spa. The chlorine was so powerful it was burning my eyes. We had to get out of it. The pool could've been much warmer.
Location: Everything is in walking distance. Very nice shopping and excellent restaurants.
Make sure you ask for oceanfront view instead of partial view. We took the partial view and we were looking at the roof on the other building. But did see a little bit of the ocean. We went down to the desk and ask for an upgrade and they upgraded us for $30 more a day. It was well worth the money. Overall a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Great hotel , Staff and excellent location will use again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Ok its older hotel and no elevator weird. I paid for ocean view and got a big building infront offour view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Loved our stay!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Loved our 3 day 2 night stay! Staff were accommodating and friendly. Hotel right on the beach and made it so convient to take my 7 yo and 9 yo. The hotel provided beach chairs, umbrellas, toys, boogie boards. Continental breakfast daily and 5 minute walk to downtown Carlsbad where all the eateries were for lunch & dinner. Had an amazing time! We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Ryan R, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beach Terrace Inn. We are glad to know you enjoyed your recent visit. We hope to see you in the near future. Many Thanks,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel so much fun!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We love staying here we have a wonderful experience and our kids have so much fun!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Ryan R, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. We a re glad to know you had a wonderful time during your recent visit! We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Great beach lication

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Beautiful views, helpful staff remodeled Would defiantly return
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Ryan R, Hotel Management
Dear lisee, Thank you for your review and the beautiful photo you submitted.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: They provide all the beach equipment you need (towels, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc.)
Location: There are many restaurants within walking distance.
This is a great place for a family to stay right on the beach. We stayed here for 2 nights on our So Cal vacation. The water is clear and the waves make for good boogie boarding. The staff is friendly and helpful. Recommend this place for any family looking to unwind and spend some time together. My oldest teenager went without her Iphone for a full 6 hours one day. That should tell you something. Beautiful setting and place. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Ryan R, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beach Terrace Inn. Your kind words regarding our staff are greatly appreciated. A teenager going six hours without a cell phone?? That is a feat in itself. We thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you in the near future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel muy agradable en la playa con buen servicio

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Las habitaciones muy comodas!
Cons: el desayuno podria incluir mas variedad, sobretodo de alimentos salados
Location: Playa de muy buen nivel! buena comida!
hotel agradable. Relativamente cerca de Sn Diego. el Servicio muy bueno. la gente muy amable. los desayunos continentales buenos en general, quiza falto variedad. El lugar muy bonito con muy buena playa!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Ryan R, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beach Terrace Inn. Your kind words regarding our hotel are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again in the future! Many Thanks, Ryan R. Assistant Hotel Manager