Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Loved this hotel. It was a convenient distance from good restaurants and entertainment locations, and it was very comfortable and aesthetically pleasing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

Great staff, walk to gas lamp, extremely noisy

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Staff was extremely helpful and welcoming.
Cons: The amount of noise levels and also have better conditioner and body wash in bathrooms.
Location: Gas Lamp district walking distance away. 15 minute drive from PB.
Staff was extremely helpful and had great customer service. Basic, convenient place to stay when you want to just hang out for the weekend and don't plan on staying in your hotel room the whole time. The only thing that wouldn't bring me back to this hotel is the noise level. You can hear noise from outside your room, people staying in the room above and next to you. I knew when my neighbors were taking showers, flushing the toilet, I could hear the vaccume of the ladies cleaning, walking back and forth in the rooms, gardeners. Noise nightmare. Didn't get much sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice quaint place - sort of dated but ok for price

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Price, location, look
Cons: Carpet is old & room smells musty
Location: Near Gaslamp district without the huge price tag
Older but very quaint. Great use of small space they have. A more updated room would have made the experience perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Man at the front was very helpful and friendly. Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Convenient location. Fare price for last minute. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located and cozy feel.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Good reception, comfortable feel. I travel alot and would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Denyell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The hotel was easy to find. Room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. I was happy to have found a few gluten free options at breakfast and almond milk. We cannot eat gluten nor dairy. So this was exciting! :D
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Mold on the breakfast muffins

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
welcome at the reception was very nice, we got a lot of good tips and we were very happy about the booking until breakfast! first morning we didn't really pay attention but one if us got very food poisoned and next morning we have seen that all the muffins had mold on them. We notified the stuff but they didn't seem to care and took them away to the shelf instead of trush bin!!!! even after notifying the manager he didn't seem to care or even apologies for a horrible food poisoning the hotel have caused. check your muffins well before eating there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in Downtown San Diego

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Stayed the weekend. Liked the location, just a few blocks away from the action in Gas Lamp district. We were counting on the Best Western reputation, but we were seriously disappointed. We were on the ground floor. Horribly thin walls and ceiling - heard every word uttered by our neighbours. Plumbing above us was also incredibly loud. We seriously had to shout above the noise to have a conversation above every shower and toilet flush, which seemed to happen quite regularly each morning and we'll past midnight. That and all kinds of other unexplained building noises kept us up all night. The room also strongly smelled of disinfectant- like a urinal cake. Pretty awful experience, but honestly, the staff was very polite and friendly and helpful in guiding us toward the local sightseeing hot spots.