Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Staff was argumentative initially before being willing to accommodate me. My company was booking 4 rooms for 4 families that needed to be temporarily relocated. They were unwilling to do early check-in or even attempt to do an early check-in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from imperial, ca

Really nice hotel close to freeway, good eats

Posted Apr 6, 2017
My stay eas very relax. The room eas spacious and had refrigerator and microwave. They also serve breakfast, it was great. Ut was a great stay. Thanks Best Western Cimtinental Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, Ca

It has seen better days...

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This is an old motel that has been painted and cleaned up a bit. They were doing construction in the part I was in - which is older and closer to the freeway. At check in asked for a 'quiet' room - and she placed in the a second floor near freeway. Noisy due to freeway and nearby gas station, construction, unsecure steps to second floor (part of the construction). Room - okay. Had problems getting hot water for shower in the am. Evening staff not very friendly or welcoming. Checkout/Morning staff very pleasant. Probably will not stay here again. The price was higher than other budget motels in this area so I thought it would be nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by ed, Hotel Management
Hello Jim, On behalf of the entire staff, I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Regarding the room situation, When you book a standard single room, the rooms are all in the building next to the highway. Best Western requires upgrades at times and we try to restrict the noise as much as possible by starting later ending earlier. Regarding the water issue, the owners have been made aware and we are waiting on updates of this issue. Thank you, Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ed at the front, was very accommodating.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The bed.
Location: Near downtown El Cajon where there are many restaurants
I had just lost my fiancé to cancer that day and Ed was kind to me in the best room he had. Helix suite. It was clean and the bedding was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Cold showers

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Stayed here few years ago. Constant construction - then as now. Unfresh smell in rooms. Cold water. 9 pm and 6 am. Couldn't shower. Let water run and never got warm. Massive traffic area on busy freeway on ramp. On good side - clean sheets. Nice continental breakfast. Friendly folks. Handy location but busy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by best western, Hotel Management
I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during you stay. We will be working on the issues you spoke of to ensure everyone will have the most pleasant stay possible. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the busy freeway on ramp. Thank you, Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is right next to freeway could hear traffic

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Stayed one night beds very comfortable and room was clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui Hawaii

El Cajon hotels

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Continental breakfast
Cons: The sausages at the continental breakfast did not taste good. They could have put out more food like scrambled eggs and bacon.
Location: El Cajon is not near the beach or downtown San Diego but we had family there.
This was the 3rd hotel we looked at before we settled on it. The first hotel was another Best Western close by and it was under major construction with workers using nail guns and hammers and making so much noise. There was a tenant working on his car in the parking lot. We left there and checked out another. This hotel was better than the other 2 and we stayed for 4 nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
In town for a wedding,the hotel was close to the venue.the room was super clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, Ca.

Hotel Room clean, services and environment good.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
For the past five years visited El Cagon 5 to 12 times a year. With two children the environment, besides cleanliness, is important to us from the likes of cigarettes and recreational drugs and homeless around the motels. Our experience at your motel was great and looking forward to visiting in the near future. I neglected recommending at first for fear of full and unavailability in the future. Joe A.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
rooms were clean but they did have a musty smell to them. otherwise, ok