Ratings based on 2,369 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bugs

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Do not stay here if you have sensitive skin and/or have young kids. Even my 4- year old said he was itching all over. Besides the bed bugs, the layout of the rooms are not good, if someone talks in the parking lot, I don't think any room is exempt from not hearing it clearly. Some people were talking loud at 2am, I was hoping the front desk personnel would go quite then down, but no action was taken. Also we got a surprise 5am wake up call which we definitely did not arrange. Plus emergency siren noises, and loud trucks leaving super early in the morning, we basically did not sleep for more than 2 hours. When asked about how our stay was during checking out, I told the lady about these incidents, I said I understand some of them (siren & truck noises) might not have been their fault, but how about the wake up call? She did not bother looking into the issue, and only said "I'm sorry it happened" (you can totally tell she was not sincere at all). Totally bad hotel & front desk service. The only acceptable part of this experience was breakfast was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Madison, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We have contacted our pest prevention company to come and investigate that issue. We will also investigate the issue with the wake-up call. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service. Sincerely, Madison Bear Sales Manager Best Western Mission Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel - great location

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Very clean and super location.
Our initial impression when we drove up was not great (industrial storage area was not very nice), but our room was very clean and comfortable. The pool was small but it was still quite nice. The breakfast was great. The location can't be beat. Close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SAN FRANCISCO

Well located but.....

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Hotel was well located. And staff was great. But the facilities felt more like a motel than a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Traveling with animals and the hotel policy is to place the rental on the first floor giving you direct outside which I greatly appreciated. Staff very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid Three. Good for the price.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Typical Best Western with good free breakfast. Room updated and looked clean-- but my bare feet got somehow filthy! Safe area. Get a room on an upper floor away from the stairs. All the noise from the parking lot funneled in all night and the staff decided to fill the Coke machine outside our room at 6:30 AM!!! Easy freeway access; lots of parking. Close to, but not walking to, many tourist areas. Not terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All matters mentioned will be brought up to their appropriate departments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Very enjoyable experience

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Location: It is within a ten-minute drive of SeaWorld, and only fifteen minutes to the San Diego Zoo.
This is a great place to stay. The location was perfect for all the places we planned to visit. It is easy to get in and out of. The rooms are nice with very comfy beds. The staff is friendly and accommodating. They have a wonderful breakfast that includes hot items such as omelets and burritos. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is priced right with many outstanding features.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Very dirty room no natural light almost bad air conditioner
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Great location, close to the airport.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great location, close to the airport.breakfast was really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you liked our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Convinent location for all of SD attractions

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, well kept rooms, continental breakfast
Cons: find a way to seal the doors so guests aren't hearing EVERYthing that goes on outside.
Location: La Jolla Beach, Old Town, Mission Bay, Balboa Park and Sea World
In short response: we would stay here again. Pro's -Close to La Jolla Beach, Old Town, Mission Bay, Balboa Park and Sea World -The room was very clean and comfy -Provided Breakfast is not disappointing in the least. -Staff were wonderful from start to finish Con's - This only applies to those who stay in rooms 18 and 19 on all 3 floors but we were right next to the elevator and ice machine, we were woken up every time someone got off the elevator or chose to get ice at 1 in the morning. - the doors don't seal closed when they are shut and locked. this looked like it was an issue for all of the doors on the south wall. We could hear full conversations outside our room. another thing that would wake you up early in the morning. -difficult to get a full nights rest if you are a light sleeper. - No Shuttle service (this didn't bother me, but I heard someone else ask and they seemed very disappointed.) All in all this was the perfect location for us to hit the beach, eat down in old town and explore the local sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vacaville, Ca

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel room was small and needs renovation. Location was ok, we were at an easy driving distance to the key sites in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Jesse, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review