Ratings based on 1,794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice Views but...........

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: They had some nice views of the Bay.
Cons: Most everything electrical, lights for the elevator, their wi-fi system and phones. It is also showing it's age.
Location: It is in Old Town San Diego, great food and history.
The Staff at this hotel is the best thing it has going for it. Nothing seemed to work, lights in the room, the phone by the pool, and their "free" Wi-Fi is non-existent. And if you put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door they ignore it and either knock or call your room. So if having a nice staff with some good views of the Bay and Old Town is your thing go ahead and stay here. But I won't be staying at this facility ever again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Very accessible to beach, airport, old town
Cons: Too noisy.
A little noisy on the weekend but overall a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Very positive experience! I would come back to the best western hacienda for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Poor choice for business travel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Hotel is central in old town.
Cons: Mostly everything could have been better.
Location: Old town has plenty of restaurant and tourist destinations.
Stayed at this particular hotel as a business traveler with a colleague who had an adjoining room in building 6. The parking was under construction the week we were there, making the trip from the parking to the room a solid 10 minutes, as you navigate the terraced building via multiple elevators. Construction would start early at 7am. Wi-Fi was there in theory, but did not function consistently any of the days we were there. Multiple calls to the front desk produced little by way of assistance, although a staff member showed up at the door fairly quickly, there was no resolution to connectivity. Trying to iron my pants, I realized the auto-retracting power cable does not lock in places and auto-retracts. Hotel staff brought me a new iron, but never replaced the other one. Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, and was an extra charge to the accommodations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I have stayed at this hotel before and I continue to stay there whenever I visit Old Town San Diego
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto, Ca

Don't stay at this hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: the outside only and the shopping outside
Cons: needs to improve all over 100%
Location: Seaworld
I did not like this hotel and will not be staying in this hotel ever agin, very noisy, nasty pool, nasty old rooms, parking worst ever plus you gotta pay for the that parking, no free breakfast, just very very unpleasant, I don't recommend this at all especially if you have a infant with the conditions it is now…it's like a motel not a hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel with thin walls

Posted Jun 18, 2016
The location in Old Town is great, the decor is charming, but the walls are so thin you can hear conversations next to you and, in our case, above you. The staff was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Great service

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Wonderful experience. I would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016
The receptionist was extremely nice and helpful. The bed sheets could have been softer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda Dunes, Ca.

Fun Girls Yearly Shopping Trip

Posted Jun 3, 2016
We started coming to this hotel years ago and now plan a yearly girls shopping trip. This year there were 5 of us. We took our 80 ish mom's and a friend. The two rooms were attached, comfortable, and spacious, We needed elevators and they were handy. We would eat at the restaurant in the evenings and all of us were treated royally and enjoyed the good food and complementary Margaritas. It is in a convenient charming location and we made time to explore Old Town. We want to come every six months as this last stay was one of our most memorable.