Ratings based on 1,946 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The Hotels atmosphere was beautiful and it's close to Old Town Historical Park and restaurants. Had a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Location Location Location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location. The feel that it is unique and not just another chain hotel. Really quaint grounds and setting.
Cons: Just a note. There are a lot of stairs, so if mobility is an issue, verify first. Also, parking garage is quite small with low clearance.
Location: Check out old town, the Plaza, all kinds of shops, restaurants. Great shopping and one of a kind stores
A nice hotel. Great location. I did feel it was slightly overpriced, however, we went during spring break and even the Motel 6 hotels were overpriced at that point so I just credit it to supply/demand. A really nice location. Great views and nice to be able to walk to old town where there is so much to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel had everything

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pool, sun, great food, great location, nice staff, great community
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
It was great! This is my second time staying here! I will come back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom was yucky!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Bathroom ceiling had black mold looking spots. Bath tub looked dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Dean , Hotel Management
We’re sorry your stay was not all you hoped it would be. Thank you for leaving us this feedback as all the reviews help to improve our service and product. We’re making investments to the hotel this year which I believe, will handle any further room issues. If your itinerary calls for another visit to Old Town, please call us direct so we’ll be able to explore all room types and options. I am confident we can find a room which will be a better fit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Broken fan in bathroom, door to gym broken do no access. Furniture old and scuffed. Room needs redoing. Shutters on window had layer of dust. Good location but not worth half the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Dean, Hotel Management
I am truly sorry for the quality of your recent visit. We are, after much discussion with Best Western design, upgrading our rooms with new carpeting, accent walls, headboards (already done) and granite counters in the bath.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Bugs in the bed, Clueless & Unprofessional Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I have family in San diego but decided to stay at a hotel in Old Town for two nights because I had work Dowtown for 2 days. I called the front desk at 1:30 am to tell them there were bugs biting me in the bed and the guy next door was snoring so loudly I couldn't sleep anyway--the girl laughed and said her boyfriend snores loud too! Then she told me she could change my room in the morning if I have my bags ready at 7 am! Unbelievable--how the heck does this hotel think it's ok to tell a guest to stay in a room with bed bugs until morning??!!! An hour later, I left and told them I want a refund because the room was not sanitary to be in with bed bugs. I checked in at 10 pm and left 4 hours later because I couldn't stay in a room with bugs. The hotel refused to refund the first night, so I paid $150 for 4 hours in a room with bed bugs and a night driving around unable to find a decent hotel to check into (all check-in is at 3 or 4 pm) and had to wake my family up at 4:30 am. Do not stay at this hotel, don't be fooled by its location and price--you can find a place downtown or in La Jolla or Mission Valley they is clean and priced the same! I'm attaching photos of the little black spots (bugs burrowed in the sheets, zoom in) and hair in the bed that did not belong to me! Oh, and the sofa had obviously not been vacuumed. Disgusting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

A great hotel in the heart of Old Town

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We've stayed in San Diego several times but always at pricier hotels by the Bay, like the Wyndham. We wanted to stay right in Old Town so we wouldn't be limited by times and getting back and forth. I was worried by some of the reviews and the inexpensive rate but we were pleasantly surprised! The staff went over and above to make our stay great! The room was great. Beautiful view. Would stay again. Room was very clean but the tub had permanent white droplet stains, not dirt, & that was the only thing I wouldn't give 5 stars. Shuttle drivers were fantastic, as well! Couldn't ask for more. We loved the hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room placement

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We were place in building 6. Our room faced the road that was under construction and they started work early with placing of there trucks. They started beeping right out side of our room at 6:30 most mornings. It also took 4-5 minutes to get to building 6 and 3 elevators later we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The setting and the staff. The Wednesday night free "happy hour" was very nice and unexpected. the outside grounds we very clean and beautiful.
Cons: I to the bar at 9:30 pm on my first night there. It said the bar was open until 10, but it was closed. Rooms were clean but could use updating.
Location: Old Town was very enjoyable and within walking distance. Great restaurants.
I was very impressed by the staff, in particular the van drivers. they were willing to go a little bit out of their way to drop me off at my conference, which was near the airport. The property was beautiful. It was a very pleasant stay. Though continental breakfast would have been nice.