Ratings based on 751 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York

Good hotel and good location

Posted Aug 27, 2015
This hotel was awesome for the price. The breakfast was good, and it wasnt just the continental kind. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. It is located minutes walking distance from many shops and restaurants and the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

One night at La Jolla, CA

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: staff, Breakfast, lobby area, pool (heated)
Cons: upgrade bathrooms
Good: location (5 ~ 10 min walk to shores and cove), breakfast (better than average), pool when not crowded, lobby was pleasant Not Good: old facility with inconvenient parking. bathroom was old, damaged, and not maintained. water didn't drain well in the shower. We are low maintenance family so we didn't mind some of the areas that other negative reviews talked about but do understand that when you are spending $200 + a night, you want things to be tidy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Disappointed

Posted Aug 21, 2015
People at check in were nice. The hotel room had an odor to it, the bathtub was dirty and had hair. I informed the front desk that the tub needed cleaning and was told someone would be in soon. That didn't happen. I had to call a second time to get the tub cleaned. In the meantime I had to wait to shower & get on with my plans. When the maid finally came in to clean the tub, she was rude and short about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

1 night get away

Posted Aug 21, 2015
I'll get straight to the point. Family of 3. Decided night before to head down to La Jolla from Rancho Cucamonga. Not a far trek. Arrived at hotel. you don't need to pay 12 bucks for parking as there are plenty of spots in the street nearby so long as you park after 5pm and move youre car before 10 am. easily done. less than a mile walk to ocean and views. everything was clean. staff was pleasant. Trip was delightful as far as hotel is concerned. nothing super fantastic but it met all of our expectations for the price. we would definitly stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Great location

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Great hotel,but poor parking. Hard to find a good parking spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: nice accom. close to beach; staff very helpful and pleasant; refrigerator was a very nice extra; healthy/tasty b'fast was excellent; reasonable price
Cons: maybe a microwave, upon request ( not everyone would prob. care to have one)
Location: lots of restaurants, stores, galleries within walking distance
Very positive experience, we would certainly stay here again. Pleasant/efficient staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corona ca

location and staff

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: location, staff, clean, food, close to beach
Cons: not much of anything
Location: dining is close the beach is perfectly close for walking. it's very quite being on Fay Ave
location is the best in town very quiet and the staff is very friendly. room are always clean the complimentary breakfast is well done. We'll always stay there no matter what.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly nice hotel, good location.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
You never know what you're going to get at a Best Western since they are all independently owned. This one has to be one of the nicest within the brand. Knowledgeable and nice staff, very clean, spacious room - and we had one of the last available ground-floor rooms - so I know there are a lot nicer options in the hotel. They do charge extra for parking, which always irks me, but it was only $12 per night. La Jolla is a wonderful place to stay, and this place is only about 5-6 blocks from the main beach point you will want to visit (to see the seals!) I don't normally give glowing reviews, but this place was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p.a

Nice

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Very pleasant stay. It was a little loud, but overall very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
I wrote an long review but Expedia quit on me during the submission. The hotel is great for many reasons. We will be staying there next year for our Cali vacation. Sorry, I don't feel like re-typing the great 500 character experience again or trying to upload some great pics.