Ratings based on 3,656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Room clean my kids have more room to play when we get back to hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location was nice.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not to bad to get to local attractions
Loved it. Very nice property with a friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Relaxing place to stay on Shelter Island

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Lovely marina setting, quiet location. There are nice restaurants about 15mins walk away near to the entrance of Shelter Island.
The room was very nice with colonial feel. The bed was comfortable except for the mattress topper which kept slipping out of place with bottom sheet and became more uncomfortable as the night went on. Pool, jacuzzi and restaurant all very good as well as the reception staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay was great

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: the view from room
Cons: shower door fixed and a quieter a/c
Location: on a island with fishing and resterants everywhere
other than the shower door wouldnt close and the a/c unit was very noisey,it was nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great staycation spot

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Why go somewhere else when we live in such a beautiful city? This is a nice getaway, tucked away from the busy streets of point loma. To one side you have the harbor with boats docked and a great view of point loma. I had a lovely view of the sunset as well. On the other side is park area overlooking water as well. Shelter island has plenty of walking, dining and things to do. The room was spacious, very clean, and the bed had 100 percent cotton sheets and duvet which is my number one criteria in a room. Large screen tv, small balcony to sit in, and the bathroom was big. My only disappointment was that the bathroom lighting was not bright enough for me. I'd stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Find

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: 15 minute drive to Downtown San Diego, 20 minute drive to La Jolla, 15 minute drive to Point Loma, bike rentals/walking path around the island
My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Best Western Island Palms on Shelter Island in San Diego. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. We loved the location because Shelter Island is a small, quiet area with many people fishing, boating, and biking, and we had great views of the harbor out front and the marina in the back. It was only about a 15 minute drive with traffic into downtown San Diego/Gaslamp District, 20 min drive up to La Jolla, and 15 min to Point Loma. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the quiet pool and the views of the boats from the pool. The hotel also offered free bike rentals which was something new and different for us to try. Humphrey's, the hotel right next door and within walking, has a concert venue with some pretty big name comedians and musicians if you're looking for something to do. There are also seal tours that go out right from the island. I would say my only complaint is that the room had a bit of a musty smell at first, but after running the AC it got better, not enough to deter me from staying here again. In fact, I've already recommended it to a few people thinking of travelling to San Diego. My husband and I can't wait to go back ourselves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great hotel. Horrible wifi and phone service. Staff fabulous. Blue Wave restaurant, excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic location and close to everything

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The room was quite small for two queen beds. The door was almost hitting one bed.
Location: All iconic activities in San Diego are close.
The location of this hotel is great, on one side a marina in the other San Diego bay, the facilities are standard for its class and even if the room was quite small for two queen beds was comfortable enough. I can recommend it if you are looking for a really nice hotel in this class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Great experience. Will do it again. Great location and wonderful service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Great Location and Value

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The value you get for a place located right on the water is amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very clean as well.
Cons: The book that came with the hotel said there was room service but there was no menu for room service. Not sure if there actually is room service.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby, great for an early morning walk along the water.