Ratings based on 1,438 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Hotel on marina

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Pretty quiet, nice view of the marina
Location: Beaches, zoo, aquarium, coastal drive, restaurants, marinas
Nice hotel overlooking the marina or the bay depending on which side u stay on. When we arrived they offered us a room with a better view. The hotel has a restaurant, but we never dined there. We did visit the bar in the restaurant, it was small but the bartender was good and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the bay, close to everything.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Location: Perfect.
Watched big ships sail by from our balcony. Comfortable bed and good shower. No parking fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views from either side of the hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Beautiful, quiet place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and clean. The bed wasn't as comfortable as we had hoped. We were not on the marina side but I think I actually preferred the view from the front as you could see the downtown landscape across the water and that was beautiful! Great experience! We would definitely choose this hotel again next time we visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

A pleasant stay

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The view was wonderful. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Maintenance items. Door gaps that let in the outside weather. Central air control.
Location: 15 minutes from downtown San Diego. Great location.
All the hotels on Shelter Island are getting old. This one too. And it showed in various ways, but none too serious. I'm sure they will eventually refurbish the rooms. But the bed was very comfortable. We had a suite. The heater/airconditioner in the bedroom was working (the central air was not) and that was all we needed. The view was wonderful of the harbor and there were needed supplies in the kitchen (although there were no towels or dish soap so while there was a sink, it was hard to wash the dishes. Bathroom was very roomy and the living room was comfortable. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Great place"

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Great room and view.
Cons: All ok
Location: Great location on the river
Great place to stay ,location fantastic.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near the water

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: location, heated pool/jacuzzi
Cons: fix high pitched noise in the bathroom, better noise insulation
Location: short drive to everything. nice walk path across the street by the water
Overall the stay was ok. It was a little difficult to find the hotel. Huge signs say Island Palms hotel, but a tiny sign that says best western. We were able to check in a little early. Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. The heated pool and jacuzzi were great considering it was quite cool in January. The AC looked like it was not installed with care as the exterior looked seamless, but the interior needed patching. There was a high pitched noise coming from the bathroom that stopped after a while. The door was rumbling as cars drove by. For a one night stay, overall it was ok. You can't beat the location with a skyline view of san diego. I prefer to be outside of the downtown area and felt the location was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco CA

Excelente

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Thx so so much to getting me over Stay really 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The staff at the front desk were awesome, maybe best I have ever witnessed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much! It's so wonderful to hear that our front desk took such amazing care of you. Thank you for letting us know! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful location and quiet.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
My family and I love staying at the Island Palms. My daughter and I were so grateful to be honored with a room upgrade with a view upon checking in! We love making memories there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Hi Kim, thanks for bringing your family back to stay with us again! I'm really glad we were able to upgrade you and your daughter to a room with a great view. Come back again soon so you can make some more great memories!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO

VERY NICE HOTEL

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: comfort , cleanliness and the staff .
Cons: parking
Location: a nice walk in the morning
The Staff , room , comfort , location are all great, 5 star .They upgraded us to room with balcony We stayed for one night and it was beautiful . we will go back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It's great to see you had a 5-star experience during your visit with us. I'm glad our staff provided great service and were able to upgrade you to a room with a balcony. The best compliment we can receive is that you want to come back - we'll look forward to welcoming you back the next time!