Ratings based on 1,435 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

A pleasant stay

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The view was wonderful. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Maintenance items. Door gaps that let in the outside weather. Central air control.
Location: 15 minutes from downtown San Diego. Great location.
All the hotels on Shelter Island are getting old. This one too. And it showed in various ways, but none too serious. I'm sure they will eventually refurbish the rooms. But the bed was very comfortable. We had a suite. The heater/airconditioner in the bedroom was working (the central air was not) and that was all we needed. The view was wonderful of the harbor and there were needed supplies in the kitchen (although there were no towels or dish soap so while there was a sink, it was hard to wash the dishes. Bathroom was very roomy and the living room was comfortable. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Great place"

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Great room and view.
Cons: All ok
Location: Great location on the river
Great place to stay ,location fantastic.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near the water

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: location, heated pool/jacuzzi
Cons: fix high pitched noise in the bathroom, better noise insulation
Location: short drive to everything. nice walk path across the street by the water
Overall the stay was ok. It was a little difficult to find the hotel. Huge signs say Island Palms hotel, but a tiny sign that says best western. We were able to check in a little early. Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. The heated pool and jacuzzi were great considering it was quite cool in January. The AC looked like it was not installed with care as the exterior looked seamless, but the interior needed patching. There was a high pitched noise coming from the bathroom that stopped after a while. The door was rumbling as cars drove by. For a one night stay, overall it was ok. You can't beat the location with a skyline view of san diego. I prefer to be outside of the downtown area and felt the location was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco CA

Excelente

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Thx so so much to getting me over Stay really 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The staff at the front desk were awesome, maybe best I have ever witnessed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much! It's so wonderful to hear that our front desk took such amazing care of you. Thank you for letting us know! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful location and quiet.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
My family and I love staying at the Island Palms. My daughter and I were so grateful to be honored with a room upgrade with a view upon checking in! We love making memories there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Hi Kim, thanks for bringing your family back to stay with us again! I'm really glad we were able to upgrade you and your daughter to a room with a great view. Come back again soon so you can make some more great memories!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO

VERY NICE HOTEL

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: comfort , cleanliness and the staff .
Cons: parking
Location: a nice walk in the morning
The Staff , room , comfort , location are all great, 5 star .They upgraded us to room with balcony We stayed for one night and it was beautiful . we will go back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It's great to see you had a 5-star experience during your visit with us. I'm glad our staff provided great service and were able to upgrade you to a room with a balcony. The best compliment we can receive is that you want to come back - we'll look forward to welcoming you back the next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location was terrific! Enjoyed the park across the street and walking along the marina and then across to the harbor each morning.
Location: Great places to eat within walking distances. Easy to get to from airport and close to great beaches.
The room we stayed looked out over the marina. Great choice rather than a parking lot. Opening the windows to this scenery was amazing each day. The room is clean. Great having mini frig. and microwave. The room was tight though with the furniture. Pool area was lovely. Not many options though to sit in a lobby area to relax with other hotel guests that we stayed with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and I'm so glad you had such a great experience staying with us! It looks like with trips to the pool, the park next door and nearby restaurants you were able to really take advantage of our location and amenities. Next time you are welcome to gather in our Casa Del Mar lobby, which is in our second building. It offers abundant seating and is a great place to relax with family or friends. We hope you'll have the chance to come back and visit us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We liked the hotel it was nice. I would definately stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Heather! I'm so glad you liked our hotel so much and would stay with us again. Thank you for your great review and hopefully we'll see you again in the not-too-distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington Ontario.

Convenient location - cruise terminal / airport

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, especially Brenda ar reception.
Cons: Would be nice to have senior's menu in restaurant (smaller portions at lower price).
Location: Enjoyed walking next to the yacht basin and also on the paved walkway along the waterfront. Birds and flowers to be seen.
We were looking for a place to stay for one night at the end of a cruise, and this turned out to be a good choice. We much appreciated the early check-in which allowed us to get settled before going out to explore. Getting to the airport the next morning was a breeze.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Spencer Priest, Hotel Management
Hi Wendy, thank you for staying with us after returning from your cruise! It's wonderful to hear that Brenda was so friendly and helpful and found a room for you to settle in to early. It sounds like you really enjoyed our waterfront location as well, which is great! Come back and visit us again, whether during a cruise trip or just for fun!