Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Strong chemical smell

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Clean, plenty of parking, nearby shopping and restaurants, pool.
Location: Large mall, plenty of restaurant options
Our stay was fine except that the bathroom floors had been resealed recently, and the smell was VERY strong in the rooms. The noise from nearby highways was also an issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Clean and updated. Close to the freeway so a little noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Good value

Posted Sep 12, 2016
First time staying here. Staff was very friendly/ helpful. Room amenities were good and daily breakfast bar was good. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon were a nice surprise. The location is a little noisy as it is next to the freeway, but we ran the A/C on low at night to reduce the background noise, and we slept very well. We would return in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to the San Diego area.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Very convenient to the sites.
Cons: Only problem we found was it was a little noisy because it is right next to interstate 8 and you can hear the vehicles on the freeway.vlse to all site
After checking in we checked out the area and located several shopping centers and entertaining
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery,Al

Convenient to my work site

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Had AC failure in the first room one one of there very hot days, had to be moved to another room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Decent hotel close to San Diego for comic con.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Very friendly staff, some road noise since it was close to highway, parking slots seemed extremely close together, many people double parked, fridge in room didn't seem to get cold. Fast check in and check out. Complimentary breakfast was excellent, hot food refilled immediately and staff kept area clean at all times. Overall a decent hotel for our needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield CA

Nice clean Motel. Has been updated and comfortable

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nice restaurant next door and shopping is nearby.
Easily accessed from highway with good parking and amenities. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice stay

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The room was a good size. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly.
Cons: The breakfast could be improved. (See above).
Location: Not applicable to me. I stayed here because it was very near where members of my family I was visiting lived.
The staff were very friendly. The room was very comfortable though I would have preferred to be on the side away from the Freeway. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast. I wonder if the eggs were pre-fab rather than fresh. Dairy in the fridge was almost expired. I was also a bit disappointed in the coffee. But these were the only problems. I chose this hotel because of it's proximity to where family members I was visiting lived.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Heather Marmon, Hotel Management
Hi Monty, Thank you for taking time to give us an overall positive review! I am very happy to hear that our staff made you feel at home. We take pride in our hotel, staff, and guests. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the breakfast selection. I have passed on your concerns to our General Manager and Breakfast Attendant and we will address them to the best of our ability. We hope to welcoming you back during your next visit to the area.
4 out of 5
by John from Los Angeles

Good Hotel, Not So Great Parking

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very clean, the bed was very firm and comfortable. My only issue is with the parking. Many of the spots appear to be abnormally narrow. I managed to squeeze into one, but if you have a large SUV or pickup truck, be warned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Best Western Plus La Mesa, Hotel Management
Hello John, Thank you for staying with us! We're glad that your stay was overall positive. We understand that the parking lot can become crowded and we are taking your feedback into consideration. Thank you again, Jim Haupert General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: It was close to family we went to visit and it was quiet.
Location: Not much to do nearby.
Recently renovated so building and room looked clean. The breakfast was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Jim Haupert, GM, Hotel Management
Hello Sandy, Thank you for staying with us at Best Western Plus! We're glad that you had an overall pleasant experience and hope to welcome you back soon!