Ratings based on 7,599 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pool was nice but rooms were not great. Great location in San Diego.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Convenient central location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very easy to get to at the end of a long row of hotel and right at the intersection of two major highways. A 10 minute drive to downtown, 20 minute drive to La Jolla and Torrey Pines, and located just behind a major shopping mall, this hotel made our travels very convenient. The rate was very reasonable, and while the hotel is not brand new and could use some upgrades, for its price, it is well worth its money. There is no 24 hour housekeeping though, so when we had asked for towels while the front desk staff was busy, we never received them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Our room was small. The beds, however, were excellent, as were the pillows. Room was quiet, but very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Met all my travel checklist needs

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Cons: It was a touch small for two people to share as there was nowhere to keep suitcase rack -- have to unpack. Fan light in bathroom was loud
Location: It was located in Mission Valley on Hotel Circle, close (short driving distance) to Old Town San Diego, Point Loma and Mission Bay.
It was clean, had free wifi, refrigerator in room, lots of hangers, good drawer space, a night table usable by both beds and accessible plugs for my phone charger. In addition, an onsite cafe for a lovely breakfast, lunch or dinner. Some Hiltons and Marriotts don't meet this checklist. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Meh, until the $10 answer.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We booked our stay for 3 nights and 4 days. We checked in late because we were in San Diego for Spring Break and we had a full itinerary. The staff was really friendly upon arrival. We get to our room where our keys didn't work. The front desk sent someone to come open our room for us. They said give it 15 minutes sometimes it takes a while. Fine. Long story short our keys didn't work and we had to replace them in the morning, which one of the replacements didn't work then either. So after a long day we arrive to a room, that was booked for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 children, in hopes of a nice shower. Our family of four had to share TWO thin towels. There was no microwave in our room, we took breakfast food and we couldn't use it because there was no microwave. On our last day there my husband went to check out and asked if there was somewhere he could heat up a cinnamon roll and they said no, BUT they could send it up to a room with a microwave for a $10 fee?!! Talk about TACKY! So, most of the issues I stated here, I could've looked passed because we basically needed a place to sleep and safely store our belongings, which we got. But if someone is staying in a hotel longer than one night, you'd assume they are going to need basic amenities such as a microwave to heat food and not charge if you ask to use one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Nice hotel close to downtown and beach.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Price, location, friendliness of staff, beautiful grounds
Location: Easy freeway access - close to downtown, beaches, zoo, seaworld, fishing, etc. Lots of amazing local restaurants.
Nice facility - beautiful grounds. Great price considering location. Close to all the local attractions - easy freeway access to downtown and beaches. Definitely would recommend staying here again. The rooms are somewhat small, but the outdoor spaces make up for it. Nice grounds, 2 hot tub locations, pool, gym, restaurant and bar. If you like quiet, ask for building 4 - it's at back of complex tucked against hillside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland,OR

Smelled bad

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was just ok. The bathroom had a bad smell so we had to keep the door closed. There were gnats flying everywhere. There was not a microwave in the room. There was a very thin blanket between the sheets so we ended up buying throw blankets. The sign out front says you can buy tickets to area attractions but when we went to buy zoo tickets the front desk staff said the lady that sells them wouldn't be in for another three days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with an excellent experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
All the improvements are worth it. Best western is definitely coming up
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

You get what you pay for

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This place is located near Old Town San Diego and freeways which is a plus, but you should only book a room here if you cannot afford something better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lethbridge ab Canada

was ok

Posted Apr 18, 2017
it was good at the hotel and the restaurant was ok. , we like the city of San Diego CA. US