Ratings based on 1,830 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Located next for freeway, easy access on and off .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Travel to San Diego and staying here was nice

Posted Feb 14, 2017
It's always nice staying here clean rooms and staff is very helpful..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
I really,really.really,really like Best Western South Bay Inn. Its very comfortable and I will always stay there when I return to San Diego. The ladies at the front desk are very helpful and very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 19, 2017
It was a nice hotel The first night I was there they give me a room that had somebody in it but everything else was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I do apologize for the confusion. That is not a normal occurrence here. Please come back and visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Nice hotel close to Restaurants and shopping.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Really great cutomer care. Check in was a breeze and check out was hassle free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We try to make checking in and out easy and quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Overall good location quiet and clean. Plenty of restaurants in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and please come visit us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Terrible Experience

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: see above
Location: see above
They checked people in but actually did not happen and they charged for the night. It was supposed to be 24 hours front desk, however, we waited about an hour, and nobody there. We made phone call but nobody picked up. We had to book another hotel instead at the midnight. We were waiting outside of the door and it was super cold. The door to the front desk was closed. The next day we called them and expedia customer service and they said that we were checked in. How could it be possible??? Who checked us in??? We tried to ask expedia for help about the refund since we did not actually stay there. But they did not refund us!! The reason is ridiculous. Below is the response from expedia customer representative after they negotiating with the hotel: We have advocated your request to the property and we would like to inform you that due to your reservation's policy, they denied any cancelation or refund request. Thank you for contacting Expedia about your cancelation request for your reservation at Best Western South Bay Inn. As we check the hotel cancelation and change policy states the following. "The room type and rate selected are non-refundable. Should you change or cancel this reservation for any reason, your payment will not be refunded." "Cancellations or changes made after check-in are subject to a hotel fee equal to 100% of the total amount paid for the reservation." We are so disappointed about the experience and the hotel and will not recommend at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I do apologize. However, nobody from my staff spoke to Expedia regarding this reservation. There is normally someone at our office 24 hours, unless they are assisting a guest here on property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia - Brisbane

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Good room size. Free parking . Best breakfast you can get in the town and it's complementary . Very reasonably prized . Located very close to food outlets. Kids Loved the stay as very good TV with good acess to channels .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Hotel was rundown. The toilet kept clogging. Housekeepers never left enough towels and washcloths, so we had to keep calling nearly everyday for more...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our hotel is in the middle of renovations, so we do have some extra dust at the hotel right now. You can put a request in at the front desk to have extra towels left in your room for future stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
I basically booked this hotel for our seaworld trip. Its just 15mins drive to seaworld. Very convenient. The hotel was nice. A little outdated but the room was clean and staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Our location is convenient to see most of the city and it's attractions. We do hope you will stay with us next time you visit our lovely city.