Ratings based on 945 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: staff
Location: On the beach basically and in the heart of everything including pubs and restaurants
stayed there for two nights its an old hotel which has been fully refurbished and is in the best location on the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hear the waves while you sleep

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Location was great...steps from the beach! Small, intimate feel to the hotel. Lovely pool area.
Cons: Patio furniture in our guest room needs to be replaced.
Location: Great location! Steps to the beach, restaurants, entertainment, shopping!!
Had a great experience at the Blue Sea Hotel. Was prepared to be underwhelmed when we drove up to the hotel, but as promised by other reviewers, that didn't last long. We had called the hotel in advance to request an early check-in, and at 10 am our room was ready for us. The room was clean, nice and modern. The patio furniture needed to be replaced, but that was the only room complaint. The front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Hotel was in a great location...could walk to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Blake White, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay - mentioning the great location, pool area, and the helpful, knowledgeable front desk staff! We do hope you can join us again during your next trip to the Pacific Beach/San Diego area - we would love to have you as our guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Perfectly relaxing!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
We were in San Diego for a month while my husband underwent a very extensive surgery. This was our only beach hotel during the visit and we loved every second of it! The customer service was Exceptional and the staff warm and inviting! Special shout out to Blake for his great service. If we win the lottery we are moving here! We saw whales from our balcony and our partial view room was terrific. Very clean and tasteful. And literally just steps from the beach. Lots of places to eat and a nice paved walkway right out front that runs the length of the beaches, so accessible for wheelchairs if needed. Loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Blake White, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay - mentioning the exceptional customer service, great views, and the location! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we do hope you can join us again during your next trip to the San Diego area!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jacuzzi not hot

Posted Feb 7, 2016
The jacuzzi is not hot and the pool could be warmer. The hotel has a great location, the rooms are nice but it is not competitive for the price with other hotels in the area. (1) Don't get a room by the elevator, as it makes noise. (2) The jacuzzi is not hot and this is the point, to be by the ocean in the hot tub. (3) There are no amenities in the price, for example, bikes or wine. Other hotels give these. Overall, it remains a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Blake White, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us - mentioning the great location! I do apologize that you were faced with inconveniences during your stay. The feedback you have provided will help us provide exceptional service and achieve our desired goals - thank you! We do hope you can join us again during your next trip to the Pacific Beach/San Diego area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca

great hotel, great location

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Stayed here for only a night, but it was perfect. Good view of the ocean, and the sound of waves crashing was very relaxing. The hotel is within walking distance of many great restaurants as well. We ate at World Famous across from the hotel and really enjoyed the food, view of the ocean, and of course the proximity to our hotel room. There is no valet and it is self parking. That worked great for us, as parking was close to the building. The room was spacious and very clean. The queen bed was very comfortable too. Really enjoyed the getaway and the hotel helped make it memorable. I hope to return soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Blake White, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay - mentioning the great location and what the area was able to provide for you! Regarding the room, we are pleased to hear that the condition and comfort were pleasing to you as well! We do hope you can join us again during your next trip to the Pacific Beach/San Diego area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the beach & restaurants

Posted Feb 6, 2016
very enjoyable and well connected to things to do. Local transportation great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Blake White , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! We hope you can join us again during your next trip to the Pacific Beach/San Diego area - we would love to have you as our guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Agradable a un lado de la playa

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Super ubicacion, a unos pasos del corredor de la playa, por lo que puedes salir a pasear y hay muchos restaurantes cerca. La habitación no tenía vista al mar, lo cual no está padre si estas tan cerca. En general todo muy bien.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
For the price we paid it was tiny and our shower leaked and looked like it had mold in the door frame. However we were close to the water and the bed was amazing. The staff comped our parking for the water leak problem. Just think it was way over priced!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Blake White - Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. I do apologize that you were faced with these inconveniences during your stay - we do appreciate your feedback as it will help us achieve our desired goals. We are thrilled you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the comfort of our beds! We do hope you can join us again during your next stay in the Pacific Beach/San Diego area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great room with a partial view of the beach.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Decor was cool and the room was clean and comfy.
Cons: Everything was great!
Location: The beach is just steps away, as well as restaurants and bars.
We had a great quick stay at the hotel. The beds were super comfy and the room was very clean. It is close to everything and the beach is just steps away. I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Blake White - Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you Susan for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and gave mention to the comfortable, cozy and clean rooms as well as the location of the hotel among the beach and all the restaurants! We hope you can join us again during your next trip to the Pacific Beach/San Diego area - we would love to have you as our guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

ビーチに面したリゾートホテル

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: 室内はモダンに改装済みで特にバスルームは使いやすかったです(ちなみにアメニティはモルトンブラウンでした)。また、室内にコーヒーメーカーと電子レンジが設置してあり、とても便利でした。午後にはレセプション前にクッキーが置いてあって美味しかったです。
Cons: 室内は改装済みですが、窓とバルコニーは古い状態で、網戸が壊れていて窓も開けにくかったです。 周囲の部屋がうるさいと音は結構聞こえてくると思います。
Location: クリスタルピアのあるプロムナードの中心まで徒歩5分位。プロムナード周辺には飲食店やお店が結構あり、朝は散歩しながらKono's Coffeのコーヒーがお勧めです。 バス停は8番が至近、徒歩7~8分に30番もあり。
建物が分かれており、オーシャンフロントルームはレセプションとは別棟で入口まで多少階段がありますが、極端に大きな荷物がなければ問題ありません。 スタッフはちょうどいいバランスのフレンドリーさで、こちらが困りそうなことへの対応の速さには感動しました!