Ratings based on 2,737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Comfortable and close to shops and restaurants. Would be nice if they served coffee and pastries in the morning and/or had wine tasting in the afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Deidre, Thank you so much for your recent stay, and for taking the time to provide this 4-star review! We hope you might consider making the Bristol your downtown boutique hotel of choice. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice staff and room and location.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
I really liked here. Nice staff and location , services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Hyun, Thank you very much for your 5-star review!! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for taking the time to provide this review and feedback. We hope you will consider the Bristol Hotel again should your travels bring you back to downtown San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Weekend Get-away

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Cons: They have closed the restaurant, and the bar area is only open from 5 - 10pm
Great location, can walk to Gaslamp District, shopping, movies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for this 4-star review! We love hearing that you found our downtown location to be convenient, and we sure hope you will have the opportunity to return again sometime soon. Thank you and safe travels! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel just outside of busy downtown/5th Ave.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Friendly staff upon arrival. Helpful to tell you about good places nearby to eat. Comfortable bed and clean room. Room had an iPad to work controls plus order room service and other things should you require it, plus you could use it to browse the internet. Only stayed for one night, but I Highly recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Cathryn, Thank you very much for your 5-star review!! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others. We are very glad you had a chance to enjoy our in-room tablets to enhance your experience, and it's great to know you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you back at the Bristol again soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy and hard to get nice sleep

Posted Nov 24, 2016
I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. The only thing I want to complain is the NOISE! Noise from the streets, cars, trucks and people from next door. I feel the wall and windows are paper thin and not sound proof at all. Usually I am not picky about the bed or the room, however, I was not able to get nice sleep for a single night during my stay. If you want to rest well, try to avoid this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy a restful stay with us. We certainly understand that downtown city noise can be bothersome for sure, and we do apologize that your stay was not the exceptional one that we hope all of our guests experience. Thank you and warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec

Nice hotel near gaslamp

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, conveniently located
Cons: Perks for Expedia gold vip members
Location: Walking distance to gaslamp and seaport village
Great location, nice lobby, bar and rooms. Great service
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Stephane, Thanks so much for your review, and for selecting the Bristol Hotel for your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location, found your guest room comfortable and that you also enjoyed our lobby and bar. We hope that you might consider staying with us again should your travel plans bring you back to downtown San Diego; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warmest regards and safe travels, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, États-Unis d'Amérique

A deal in downtown San Diego

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great view, a very nice clean room. Quiet, and comfortable. Good location near lots of points of interest.
Cons: The television remote control seemed to work intermittently to change channels. Not a big deal on election night, but I'm sure that could be fixed.
Location: This hotel is walking distance or a quick trolley ride from the Santa Fe depot, close to Balboa Park and the Zoo.
I took the train down to San Diego for a quick trip, with one night. I wanted a hotel near the train station and trolley, plus close to the Gaslamp district. It was election night and I needed a quiet place to watch the results.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for this 5-star review!! It's so nice of you to have taken the time to provide such a helpful review, and please accept my apologies for the remote control issues and I hope that our associates were able to help fix that right away for you. We are so pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable, and that our staff provided you with friendly and helpful service. We sure hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime soon! Warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paper thin walls

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Great location
Looks like they are remodeling and the traffic outside is a little loud. Ask for a room in the back of the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and for your review! We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you were not inconvenienced by our refurbishment project or the city noise. We hope you would consider staying with us again sometime; we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Warmest regards and safe travels, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hamilton on.

Remember, its on a main street

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Love the location to many place in the downtown arwa on foot
Cons: Not to complaints but the room facing first ave can be somewhat noisy latenight and early morning
Location: Gaslamp is for block away, the harbour is there blocks away. Seaport village and little italy are about 15 minutes by foot but its a please walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your 5-star review!! We really appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location near so many of San Diego's downtown venues and attractions. We sure hope you will consider making the Bristol Hotel your boutique hotel of choice when visiting downtown San Diego again. We'd love to welcome you back! Warmest regards and safe travels, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

個人旅行者には好適なロケーション

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: ホテル内はFree Wifi、スタッフも質問には気さくに答えてくれたので、特に問題はありませんでした。 ベッドは寝心地がよかったです。 設備・内装や、スタッフのサービスなどは、ごくごく普通のホテルでした。
Cons: 日中は出歩いているので分かりませんが、夜間騒音が気になりました。 部屋タイプは、スーペリアルーム 1キングベッドでした。 浴槽はありますがシャワーは固定式で、日本人には少し不便かも。
Location: デイパスを購入して、MTSバスやトロリーを利用しました。バスとトロリーの停留所はホテルの近くでとても便利でした。またホテルの近くにはコンビニと大型スーパーが2店舗もあり、何かと利用しました。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you might consider the Bristol again should your future travels bring you back to downtown San Diego. Thank you and warmest regards, Debra Sanderlin, General Manager