Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Cozy Victorian within walking distance of Balboa.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
We truly enjoyed our stay at Britt Scripps Inn and would return again happily. We stayed Friday to Saturday as a night away while the grandparents stayed with the kids. Pros: 1. Our room was HUGE! We had the garden room which is on the bottom floor right near the front desk/breakfast area. 2. Our bed was supremely comfortable. 3. Our shower had tons of fantastic pressure and hot water. It was divine! 4. The staff was friendly, helpful, attentive and beyond happy to go the extra mile. They were delightful. 5. It was easy walking distance to Balboa park which was a lovely way to spend the day. 6. The rate was great and we loved free parking! Cons: 1. In the morning there was a very strong acrid like smell permeating the room. No problem, we just opened a window and it helped a lot! 2. Breakfast was rather unappetizing and I ended up passing on most of the options and eating later. My husband enjoyed the food, so to each their own. 3. It can be a little loud in that area of town, especially early in the morning. We didn't mind, we're used to it, but others may. 4. There were a few cobwebs in the ceiling area of the room and some in the bathroom. Those could be cleaned up. My cons really were very minor issues for the super picky and wouldn't in any way stop me from returning. The staff attention alone made this one of my best stays. I hope my hubby and I get another night away without the kids and if we do, we'd spend it here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very well located Victorian hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient location near good restaurants, vibrant area. Rooms are large, with good bedding and old-fashioned Victorian decor. Parking included.
Cons: Airplane traffic picks up around 7 am so late sleepers beware. Breakfast is minimal. More light in bathrooms may be needed by some.
Location: Good restaurants in a youthful neighborhood. Balboa Park is very close, with a world-renowned zoo. Short drive to the Old Town and other tourist areas
Overnight stay for a company holiday party nearby. The location could not be beat. The young woman at the desk took care of everything and provided a comprehensive explanation of available amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Needed transportation to go anywhere!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Room smelled misty, needed to buy a candle! No bar on sight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Restored Victorian

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Loved the room and the beautifully restored interior. The outside gardens are also a treat.
Cons: The place itself, nothing.
Location: A 10 minute walk from the museums in Balboa park and everything that offers.
We chose this location since we were attending an event in Balboa Park and we could walk there in about 10 minutes. The building is beautiful, but unfortunately is next to a major construction site. What must have been a wonderful old residential area near the park, is now becoming 10 to 12 story condo buildings as far as the eye can see. This (and the construction noise) detract from the overall aesthetic. The construction starts at 7:00 AM, so you really can't sleep in if you want to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Gorgeous Victorian mansion!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The mansion itself!! Our room was exceptional!
Cons: The hot water in our bathroom sink did not work...
Location: Walking distance to Balboa park but not many restaurants in the area.
after 1 week of staying in hotel chains, I was delighted to stay in this fabulous mansion!!! Absolutely charming Victorian inn!!! There was construction next to it but the noise was heard only from 8 to 4.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pitiful Breakfast

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the beauty of the house, especially the interiors.
Cons: Breakfast service was dreadful. Perhaps because of the season, the gardens were nothing to brag about.
Location: Balboa Park is in walking distance, as are a number of restaurants with varied cuisines. Downtown is an inexpensive cab or buss ride away.
Great location. Bankers Hill without airplane flight path noise. Interiors with stained glass window, beautifully finished wood door frames, window casings, and stairway, along with the wallpapers were magnificent. Exterior of building was showing signs of wear. The next lot over was a construction site, quiet during our stay because it was over a holiday weekend. Our Carriage House room was lovely and cozy. Breakfast was pitiful: Sliced cheese and meats that didn't deserve to be called cold cuts, cold cereal, pastries out of a box. It left me with the feeling of having overpaid for the booking. We went to Hob Nob Hill Restaurant for breakfast. The staff, probably students, were helpful. But our interactions lacked the charm of being greeted by proud owners as we had been at another local b&b.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Home, decent hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Stayed in the carriage house, it could have been cleaner. I purchased a room with a jet tub, didn't use the tub because it looked a little dirty. Spider webs underneath the bed. Definitely going to stay inside the house next time since that's where all the charm is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great location. Beautifully restored historic building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great, and very stylish Hotel, fantastic and convenient location. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Hotel Museum

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: As i wrote above the place is quiet, and is old and romantic. I felt like we did travel in time to the ninteen century.
Cons: Some furniture could be renovated?
Location: Two blocks from Balboa Park. There are outstanding restaurants walking distance from the house.
We have visited Britt Scripps House for a second time. We were pleased that they have much better breakfast now. Young guy from reception was outstanding. Always ready to help, always smiling, always happy. This house is quiet, private and have specific ambiance. Not like big and busy hotels. We did enjoy evenings on the porch listening to cicades. the Britt Scripps House is two blocks from Balboa Park, close to downtown and ocean. We plan to come again next year.