Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pitiful Breakfast

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the beauty of the house, especially the interiors.
Cons: Breakfast service was dreadful. Perhaps because of the season, the gardens were nothing to brag about.
Location: Balboa Park is in walking distance, as are a number of restaurants with varied cuisines. Downtown is an inexpensive cab or buss ride away.
Great location. Bankers Hill without airplane flight path noise. Interiors with stained glass window, beautifully finished wood door frames, window casings, and stairway, along with the wallpapers were magnificent. Exterior of building was showing signs of wear. The next lot over was a construction site, quiet during our stay because it was over a holiday weekend. Our Carriage House room was lovely and cozy. Breakfast was pitiful: Sliced cheese and meats that didn't deserve to be called cold cuts, cold cereal, pastries out of a box. It left me with the feeling of having overpaid for the booking. We went to Hob Nob Hill Restaurant for breakfast. The staff, probably students, were helpful. But our interactions lacked the charm of being greeted by proud owners as we had been at another local b&b.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Home, decent hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Stayed in the carriage house, it could have been cleaner. I purchased a room with a jet tub, didn't use the tub because it looked a little dirty. Spider webs underneath the bed. Definitely going to stay inside the house next time since that's where all the charm is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Märchenhaft romatisches Hotel in perfekter Lage.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Ein sehr schònes Hotel mit einem romantischen Flair und einem schönen Garten. Die Lage ist auch super. Das Hotel und das Zimmer sind dauber und werden auch tägluch hergerichtet. Leider ist das Frühstück sehr bedurftig und das Personal nicht motiviert. Selbst in einem Motel ist man besser bedient. Die Parkplatze sind in einem Parkhaus gegenuber. Es war sehr umständlich rein und raus zu kommen. Insbesondere wenn die Tore zu haben. Darüber hinaus kostet das Parken. Gegen Mittag muss man auch damot rechnen, kalt zu duschen. Das Hotel ist schon ok, aber es besteht noch viel Raum zur Verbesserung in der Srernenkategorie.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great location. Beautifully restored historic building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great, and very stylish Hotel, fantastic and convenient location. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Hotel Museum

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: As i wrote above the place is quiet, and is old and romantic. I felt like we did travel in time to the ninteen century.
Cons: Some furniture could be renovated?
Location: Two blocks from Balboa Park. There are outstanding restaurants walking distance from the house.
We have visited Britt Scripps House for a second time. We were pleased that they have much better breakfast now. Young guy from reception was outstanding. Always ready to help, always smiling, always happy. This house is quiet, private and have specific ambiance. Not like big and busy hotels. We did enjoy evenings on the porch listening to cicades. the Britt Scripps House is two blocks from Balboa Park, close to downtown and ocean. We plan to come again next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ensenada

Beautiful House, great Location, handsome Staff

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Cons: The mattress is old and noisy
We loved the house, the furniture, the smell, you go back in time. The Hotel is so close to Balboa Park, and if you enjoy walking you can be in SD downtown in 25 minutes. The satff is great, Daniel, the spanish guy at the front desk is helpful, charming and very good looking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Balboa Park

Posted Sep 21, 2016
This is a beautiful home and within walking distance to Balboa park. Quiet area with other nice homes and apartments. It was a little complicated for parking, getting in and out of the house late at night etc.--lots of access cards and a few rules. For the price, I expected a better breakfast. It was fine, but just store bought treats. It seems they could have had homemade items to choose from. It really is a beautiful home and the staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

This majestic mansion was a pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 6, 2016
A wonderful place to stay in the center of San Diego area. The room's vintage decor made this Victorian mansion turned back time to the 1800s. The staff were pleasant. Our room and bathroom clean. Free parking in a secured garage was a big plus. Can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarina Beach, Queensland

Exquisite

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and great atmosphere