Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ensenada

Beautiful House, great Location, handsome Staff

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Cons: The mattress is old and noisy
We loved the house, the furniture, the smell, you go back in time. The Hotel is so close to Balboa Park, and if you enjoy walking you can be in SD downtown in 25 minutes. The satff is great, Daniel, the spanish guy at the front desk is helpful, charming and very good looking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Balboa Park

Posted Sep 21, 2016
This is a beautiful home and within walking distance to Balboa park. Quiet area with other nice homes and apartments. It was a little complicated for parking, getting in and out of the house late at night etc.--lots of access cards and a few rules. For the price, I expected a better breakfast. It was fine, but just store bought treats. It seems they could have had homemade items to choose from. It really is a beautiful home and the staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

This majestic mansion was a pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 6, 2016
A wonderful place to stay in the center of San Diego area. The room's vintage decor made this Victorian mansion turned back time to the 1800s. The staff were pleasant. Our room and bathroom clean. Free parking in a secured garage was a big plus. Can't wait to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Don't do it.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff were gracious.
Cons: Property looks ill kept, parking and check in/out are challenging, shouldn't be listed as a B&B (store-bought pastries are served for breakfast).
Location: Many nice restaurants close by.
Apparently many of the previous positive reviews were under a different ownership. Although the rates are still high, the Bed and Breakfast aspects have been replaced by grocery store continental pastries breakfast (as shared by the staff) and the property isn't as well kept. Parking and check-in and out are a nightmare. When I adjusted the climate control A/C down, the next day I found a piece of paper taped up above it stating bluntly not to do so. The front desk staff are gracious and trying hard, but overall a disappointment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Inn

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: That it was an old Victorian Mansion
Beautiful Inn loved the architecture and old furnishings. We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The bed was so incredibly comfortable. Wish I could spend more of my trip at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Hotel in a heart of San Diego

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Staying in this hotel was like transfering in 19 century. Hotel has 9 rooms only. But you don't stay in crowded place. So nice atmosphere. The only thing is was noisy bed, even when you turn your body.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

UPGRADE FROM HELL

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: If you like renovated B&B's the place is lovely.
Cons: heating & air conditioning
Location: There is a park to walk to and other activities are within a short drive
I stayed here for my birthday on July 25th & 26th and it was the most miserable hotel stay I have ever had. I had originally booked the Library and was later contacted by the hotel with an upgrade to the Renaissance room due to their overbooking of the Library room. I wish that had not happened. When I first arrived the room was a comfortable temperature however by the evening the room had crept up to 77 degrees. I tried, to no avail, to get the ac to come back on. After having driven for 6 hours to get to the hotel I was in no mood to check out and try to find another room on the beach in the month of July. By 2 a.m. I was able to get the room to cool off by opening the windows.I woke at about 6 a.m. due to the outside noise and temperature rising. I left to go to the gym and upon my return I was greeted by their staff whom I shared my concerns with. I was assured that they would get someone out to look at the ac ASAP. I was willing to give the hotel a chance to make good on their word because they have a 4.5 rating. I left to go spend the day at the zoo. When I returned the room was 72 degrees. I then went out to dinner having left the room at 72 degrees. When I returned at about 10 p.m. it was back up to 77 degrees. At this time I contacted the hotel staff and they came to my room and made a few adjustments and told me to let them know if it did not get any better. Needless to say, it did not. At this point in time I checked out. I am currently trying to get a full refund
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
I stayed here after the MLB All Star game. It was so peaceful cute and relaxing. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Great place to stay with super friendly staff. Loved it there!