Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous old building.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Gorgeous old building. Clean rooms. Courteous snd helpful staff. Breakfast wasn't the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Amenities fell short of most B&Bs we've visited. Linens were worn and bath products were cheap. No tea or coffee available during the day. No information available about nearby restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Lovely old home in urban setting. Too bad there aren't more like it. They have off-street parking, which was nice.
Location: Bankers Hill - near Balboa Park and easy to get to Little Italy.
Construction the hotel was noisy but nice little garden in immediate area. Relaxed staff was helpful and friendly. Only there 1 night, but it worked for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old musty, dilapidated with weird breakfast.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Title says it all!! Manager surly! Not recommended. Hard to understand 4.5 customer rating or stars grading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, no doubt.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Very nice find and Expedia gave me a great deal so I went for it. BUT Construction right next door starting at 7am weekdays. Expect Trucks and heavy equipment Proximity to the SD Airport - you will hear heavy jets The mattress I had in my room, the first one up the stairs straight out - terrible. I do not know if it was the mattress topper or what but I woke in the morning from construction and with a very tweaked back. Second night, wednesday to thursday - there were some issues with the key card to open the main door after hours so one had to call the person locally on site which - is great BUT - they should not be talking in a normal volume when walking up the stairs guiding guests to their rooms, especially once it hits 1am I do not want to wake from that. Especially if I am fighting for a comfortable position in a worn out mattress. Overall though I would book it again - after reviewing the mattress. Everything else was lovely and the breakfast was light but everything was fresh and wonderful. Be aware of those mattresses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Cozy Victorian within walking distance of Balboa.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
We truly enjoyed our stay at Britt Scripps Inn and would return again happily. We stayed Friday to Saturday as a night away while the grandparents stayed with the kids. Pros: 1. Our room was HUGE! We had the garden room which is on the bottom floor right near the front desk/breakfast area. 2. Our bed was supremely comfortable. 3. Our shower had tons of fantastic pressure and hot water. It was divine! 4. The staff was friendly, helpful, attentive and beyond happy to go the extra mile. They were delightful. 5. It was easy walking distance to Balboa park which was a lovely way to spend the day. 6. The rate was great and we loved free parking! Cons: 1. In the morning there was a very strong acrid like smell permeating the room. No problem, we just opened a window and it helped a lot! 2. Breakfast was rather unappetizing and I ended up passing on most of the options and eating later. My husband enjoyed the food, so to each their own. 3. It can be a little loud in that area of town, especially early in the morning. We didn't mind, we're used to it, but others may. 4. There were a few cobwebs in the ceiling area of the room and some in the bathroom. Those could be cleaned up. My cons really were very minor issues for the super picky and wouldn't in any way stop me from returning. The staff attention alone made this one of my best stays. I hope my hubby and I get another night away without the kids and if we do, we'd spend it here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very well located Victorian hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient location near good restaurants, vibrant area. Rooms are large, with good bedding and old-fashioned Victorian decor. Parking included.
Cons: Airplane traffic picks up around 7 am so late sleepers beware. Breakfast is minimal. More light in bathrooms may be needed by some.
Location: Good restaurants in a youthful neighborhood. Balboa Park is very close, with a world-renowned zoo. Short drive to the Old Town and other tourist areas
Overnight stay for a company holiday party nearby. The location could not be beat. The young woman at the desk took care of everything and provided a comprehensive explanation of available amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Needed transportation to go anywhere!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Room smelled misty, needed to buy a candle! No bar on sight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Restored Victorian

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Loved the room and the beautifully restored interior. The outside gardens are also a treat.
Cons: The place itself, nothing.
Location: A 10 minute walk from the museums in Balboa park and everything that offers.
We chose this location since we were attending an event in Balboa Park and we could walk there in about 10 minutes. The building is beautiful, but unfortunately is next to a major construction site. What must have been a wonderful old residential area near the park, is now becoming 10 to 12 story condo buildings as far as the eye can see. This (and the construction noise) detract from the overall aesthetic. The construction starts at 7:00 AM, so you really can't sleep in if you want to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Gorgeous Victorian mansion!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The mansion itself!! Our room was exceptional!
Cons: The hot water in our bathroom sink did not work...
Location: Walking distance to Balboa park but not many restaurants in the area.
after 1 week of staying in hotel chains, I was delighted to stay in this fabulous mansion!!! Absolutely charming Victorian inn!!! There was construction next to it but the noise was heard only from 8 to 4.