Ratings based on 2,973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location is good. Room had a strong odor. Maintenance is neglected. Since I was on a business trip, and not planning to do much more than sleep and shower there, it was adequate. I only took advantage of the breakfast once...not worth repeating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Maricela Arroyo, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Overall was good

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Hotel is central to everything that you want or need .
The only bad thing was that my boyfriend and I got put in a room on the first floor where the window was facing the busy street so it was hard to fall asleep with all the noise . And the room was located by a gate that lend to the parking lot so we heard the gate slam every time someone left. It was rather obnoxious after awhile . But room was nice and clean .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Maricela Arroyo, Hotel Management
Maybe next time we will find you another location. Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Hotel de primera a precio de motel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Ubicacion genial muy bien comunicado con La Jolla y San Diego. Muchos servicios cerca.
Hotel tranquilo, habitacion enorme con cocina completa, cama comoda, patio interior con jardin y fuentes con peces, pisicina y spa. y a un paso de La Jolla y San Diego! Buenisimo. Ya he repetido dos veces.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Maricela, Hotel Management
Gracias por sus comentarios son bien recibidos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pas trop cher .

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Lit inconfortable, personelles agréables. Pas trop cher mais je n'y retournerais pas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisner, NE

The pool is beautiful, the rest a little rundown.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Easy freeway access to 805, close to Walmart, food markets and restaurants, and even a gas station. Boomers is half a mile away.
Check in was slow, with one employee walking around the back while another checked in one guest after another. When I was finally up, the second employee sat down at a computer and waved me over. And then spend five minutes logging in. So, I wasn't terribly impressed. But my primary requirements were met: I chose the hotel for its pool, free breakfast, and relative proximity to the Del Mar fairgrounds. The pool is lovely, inviting hotel guests to lounge beneath palm trees in a beautifully landscaped patio. Breakfast was sparse but sufficient: Cheerios or oatmeal, with apple or orange juice. And the location was great! The hotel is just half a mile from the 805 freeway, and we were at the fairgrounds in fifteen short minutes. As I said, the basics were met, but any extras were not. The A/C in our room was broken. It was stuck blasting at its highest setting, and when our teeth were chattering, we turned it off. This was actually the suggestion of the person we spoke with at the front desk. No effort was made to remedy the issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Online photos look better. No elevator access.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Not much. Restaurants across street are convenient if you don't want to drive far. Close to the 805 freeway.
I've been using Expedia for a long time. The majority of my booking experiences have been positive. However it's not to say that once I arrive at said places that all will be picture perfect. Sometimes hotel personnel isn't as friendly, or the rooms and hotel surroundings are not as clean, nice or well maintained as per the photos loaded onto the website; it's misleading advertisement. For instance, the person seated at the front desk needs to be friendly. When you arrive to the hotel, it's not pleasant when greeted by grumpy personnel. Then to be directed to a side entrance at the far end of the parking area, when there is a staircase closer to the lobby and room. There are no elevators, also. The pond was dirty, full of algae. Hallways/walkways need cleaning - full of bird poop. The room is dated, poorly maintained (shoty construction), but housekeeping does a decent job. Furniture is old and TV is not a flat screen. Blackout curtains were on crooked and looks like moths had attacked it... Plusses would include the morning newspaper, mini refrigerator, coffee and juice at breakfast. However, breakfast is very limited to cold cereals, mini bagels (plain) with jam or butter. Fruit selection of apples and oranges were great but already over ripened. Restaurants across the street are much better choices for lunch/dinner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
We pulled up to the hotel later at night, there were bums all around, the place looked very rough, not pleasing on the eyes at all! After much debate we decided to give it a try and couldn't even find a parking space! When I called staff to tell them our problem they were very rude and not helpful at all! Ultimately we decided not to stay since the hotel could not even accommodate a parking spot for our truck after driving all the way from New Mexico! And to top it off the hotel still charged is a "no show" fee!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Oct 7, 2016
I had a good experience staying at California suites Hotel.The rooms were nice and they were really clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Maricela Arroyo, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your reviews they are greatly welcomed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Terrible Room

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: As I said, the hotel staff was courteous and friendly. The location was not bad for the purpose of our trip.
Cons: The hotel needs to buy new bed sheets and do something about that smell in our room.
Location: There is a pretty good Korean Restaurant not far from this hotel.
The hotel staff was courteous and friendly, but our room was just terrible. The room had a terrible stench--combination of smoke and old rags, and the bed sheets had holes and were worn out. Unable to get another room because the hotel was completely booked. My wife and I also got bug bites that we can't prove came from the hotel room, but looking back, canceling out other possible places, it does seem apparent that the bites came while staying in the room. We will never go back to this place. My ratings averaged out may not seem to give it a "terrible" rating, but the room comfort was just so bad that the "real" score I would give it merited the overall rating to be terrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible, old, dirty, noisy, gross ...

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Staff was rude, hotel is old, dirty, noisy, last updated in the 80's ... Pictures look nice, that is not a true picture of what it is.