Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Definitely a place to stay in San Diego!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
My Husband and I recently stayed here, it was by far the cleanist,friendliest and most comfortable place we had stayed near the beach and Sea World area! Had a horrible experience in another hotel we booked and ended up checking out early. Good thing we found that Candlewood had an open room and we booked it. Super clean! I was very impressed with all the staff there. Very professional and helpful. This place really did make up for the horrible experience we had at the previous hotel. They have all the commodities you need here such as; fridge, dishwasher,stove, microwave, small living room area,and laundry downstairs if you need it! Not to mention they do have a dry cleaning service in case you might need it! The rooms are so kept up clean! Definitely a place you consider to book if you are in the area. Becareful where you book don't be fooled by picture of other places that look great and when you get there the place is not what you expected! Don't go through what we did where our other hotel was dirty and so small and not what was advertised. Candlewood was by far the best place we stayed by the Seaworld area. Well worth it, I honestly recommend it!
5 out of 5
by Steve from Pocatello

Great stop and well worth the money

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was suite type, larger than I needed, very nice to relax. No road noise as it is a ways off the freeway up the hill and behind another hotel.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rhonda

Double charge

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
My initial thoughts about the hotel and it's services were great. However, I became immediately irritated by the way the front deskclerk(Michelle) handled my concerns regarding the double hotel charge that my bank was charged. I booked through hotels.com, but when I checked in the last person that checked me in apparently thought I had a regular reservation through the hotel itself; when in fact my reservation was through hotels.com. so that caused a double charge. From what I was told by the hotel front desk the person that checked me in processed my check-in incorrectly, but stated that the problem would be corrected and that the charge would be credited back to my account within 7 business days. Not cool! I feel that the hotel is totally responsible for the mistake and they should have offered some type of compensation for inconveniencing me. Instead, the front desk clerk seemed to be irritated with me and referred me to hotels.com. I actually liked my room and my stay and had planned on using the hotel again in the future, but after this incident I don't think I will.:-(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Surprise

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Very clean and room was very large.
Cons: We wish the hotel had a pool.
Location: We did lots of shopping, easy access to freeways, and close too many restaurants.
Got this room on Expedia mystery Hotel and was a bit anxious about the quality. I Was pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness. Staff was kind and courteous. Is designed for longer stays than our one night, but we liked that is located centrally.
5 out of 5
by Enrique from Houston TX

Great stay!

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
One of my best stay's in the San Diego area. I will definitely be back to this hotel if I'm in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Karen from Hillsboro, OR

Weekend in San Diego

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel as we were with family celebrating a wedding. Not particularly appealing for "hanging out" if we had more time.
3 out of 5
by Gregorio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels