Ratings based on 960 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel, near beach, away from noise & traffic

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good restaurant, amazing breakfasts.
Location: The beach is close by and it's one of the few hotels where you can take walks.
I stay at this hotel 5-6 times a year. It's consistently good. I travel North and South from there and find that the location works extremely well for business travel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah

At the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Valet parking staff.
Cons: Staff!!!
Location: Rather isolated. Beach is a walk.
I won't be back. Still waiting for the k cups I asked for the 2nd day. Waitstaff at restaurant was horrible. Didn't bother with the spa in light of the other disappointments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Beautiful view of the ocean

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Beautiful view of the ocean, close to the beach, great restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort and sharing these great photos of our beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great Family Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: It's close to Legoland-which is why we came to Carlsbad. Lots of families with kids.
Cons: Don't take shuttle.After waiting an hour and 45 minutes to take the shuttle to Legoland-I wish I had just taken my car.Waited over an hour for pick up
Location: We had breakfast at Ruby's diner. Close to Legoald and wonderful beach.
My son and I stayed here during his spring break. It's a beautiful hotel. Comfortable and clean. Right across from the beach with beautiful views of the ocean. We ordered room service for breakfast and dinner. Not a lot of options for dinner, but the food was good. The pool was pleasant and not overcrowded. The staff was helpful and kind. The desk attendance even remembered my name. I thought I was getting a great price but after the resort fee and parking, it ended up being more expensive than I had planned. There's a Ralph's nearby where I picked up dinner from the deli. All of the staff was friendly except the shuttle driver. He didn't even speak. If I come back, I would like to experience the spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Trina - Thank you for staying at Cape Rey for your recent vacation to Legoland. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and pool. However, we wish you had a better experience with our shuttle. We are in process of developing a set schedule for transportation to and from Legoland for the summer in order to improve our services. We hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culver City

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Cape Rey. The beach was walking distance, the pool was warm and big. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. There are some fast food restaurants close by and Benihana is walking distance. The hotel has a restaurant on site with good breakfast choices. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you for your great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

True relaxation

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Wonderful location, kid-friendly, beautiful views, great service, and great food options. Slept with the window open and slept to the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y

The location is gorgeous.... and that's it.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
I will give credit to the front desk personnel as they were friendly and helpful. However the rest of the staff was by far the worst experience I've encountered at a Hilton resort. I often stay at the Bayfront Hilton in San Diego because it is close to home, the pool is great and the ambience is incredible. Even the restaurant is exceptional in San Diego. None of which was the case in Carlsbad. The bar was empty yet absolutely no service, the hostess was rude, the runner in the pool area kept reiterating that "this wasn't his job but he was helping others out". When we paid an upgrade fee to get N ocean view room we were asked to get all our luggage from the second floor and bring it to the lobby before providing an keys and then we could walk ourselves over to the over room, mind you we're carrying our luggage plus two kids. Once we arrived to our ocean view room the balcony was completely obstructed by a bush and motor homes (no ocean), but at that point we were not moving to another room. The next morning I called for extra towels the concierge responded by saying, "we can bring some... but it's probably going to be 20 mins"?!? I mean what could I do, I need a towel. The experience overall was terrible. I will never stay here again and will advise my friends to do the same. No point in having beautiful grounds when you have terrible staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Fantastic location, great for families, clean room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for acknowledging our fantastic location and clean rooms! We appreciate the review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parker, CO

Great Experience

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Location: legoland, flower fields
Nice hotel, clean, staff was very friendly and great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Heidi - We appreciate the great review. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff - we truly have a great team here at the Cape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Nice spot by the beach and san diego

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great stay, they have bikes available which was great, the rv camp between the hotel and ocean takes away from the luxury feel. The area around it is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Val - Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary bike rentals and that you had a great stay.