Ratings based on 937 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Close to beach. Great pool and rooms very clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel on the coast

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I've stayed there 5 times. Love the location, hotel, rooms, staff & parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Nice hotel. Close to beach.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The restaurant is really good. Beach and pool terrific. Not far from downtow Carlsbad and close to legoland. Hotel has free shuttle within 5 miles which is great. We will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The only negative thing my husband and I have to say is the restaurant inside the hotel. It is very overpriced, minimal varieties of selection, and for the prices...not so much food given. At least if you pay 60 dollars for 2 adults, it should be largely served. Other then that, there are absolutely no negative reviews for the hotel, staff, and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schaumburg, Il

Nice close to beach and quiet .

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, decor and friendly staff.
Cons: Menu orders should have been given better attention. When salad specifies, asparagus, soft boiled egg, roasted tomato dressing, they should be present
Location: We needed a car, but location was good and we were able to drive north or south. Great coastal area. Nice ocean drive to neighboring towns.
Noisy neighbors last night but overall quiet. Nice view from room. Clean and nicely decorated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Thomas Lee, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gracie, Thank you for the feedback on our resort. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. We wish you had a better experience at our restaurant and will pass this information along so we can continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The ease of checkin, the cleanliness, the size of the room, and the amenities.
Cons: Nothing at this time.
Location: We went to legoland both days we were in Carlsbad so I can't speak to other activities.
The checkin process was easy, the associate at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The lady that processed our checkout was nice but, basically said the lady that checked me in was wrong about a few things, looked her up and muttered under her breath about her. Very unprofessional, especially as how our checkin was flawless. Of course this didn't detract from our stay but is worth a mention. The associate that checked us in was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location in Carlsbad

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Friendly service at check-in. Room was spacious with huge shower (no tub) and a mini fridge. Restaurant is very good with nice patio. Hotel is across the street from the ocean. There's a state camp site on the bluff. A few minutes drive from Carlsbad Village. Bed was a bit firm for our taste. Overall we highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from way UPstate NY

A cross the highway from the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Short ending to a week in San Diego. Beautiful sunset viewed from our balcony. Great pool, hot tub, fire rings. Not too noisy being near the highway. Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great hotel, great little town.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet room! For two insomniacs, this is a biggie. Lovely grounds, wonderful and helpful staff, good food.
Cons: Street noise - no listening to waves here. Nothing to be done about it - you just have to accept it.
Location: Rain kept us in much of the time, but we did go to Belly Up Tavern (great show - catch The Accidentals any time you can!), and checked out the Village
Carlsbad and its vicinity is charming and laid back - even in bad weather. We came for five days of sun and fun and got maybe one-and-a-half days, but it was still good to be in a nice space with decent food. While the Hilton Cape Rey is a little pricey (and so is its restaurant), for a special vacation as this was meant to be, we sprang for a few meals onsite and even room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to the beach, quiet and great views

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Stayed for 5 days, great service and very peaceful. There are resort fees of $20 per room and $19 for parking. We knew about it, but the biggest downfall of staying at this hotel