Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exelent Hotel

Posted May 23, 2016
Was a peaceful experience and join all tha amentues with all my family wounderful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Close to beach. Very nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2016
Great place to stay. Wish we could have spent more time here
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Incredible view and very nice clean facilities.

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel with great staff
Cons: Toilet paper holder hung up side down.. But that was the extend anything negative
Location: Del Mar, Balboa Park and Carlsbad Village
Great hotel within a short drive to all attraction in San Diego Area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to Beach.

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: close to beach, good, staff, clean
Location: Carlsbad village is good place to visit.
Room Had to be switch. Were given a Handy cap room, was nothing in bathroom to put toiletries, just the sink
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: My kids loved the live performer on Friday night. They were mesmerized.
Cons: Hotel staff were friendly but seemed to forget to give us our breakfast passes at check in and book our cabana when we called to reserve it.
Location: Nearby Carlsbad state beach, Legoland, shopping, San Diego
Hotel was in a great location, rooms were clean and updated and staff was friendly. We opted for renting a cabana and sitting by the pool versus battling the crowds at Legoland. Great choice! we will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, beautiful hotel.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pool was beautiful and the view of the ocean was great. Loved that we could walk across the street and be at the beach. Shuttle service was awesome, always available and very friendly. Only negative was the side of the hotel that our window faced had a slight sewer smell...nothing that ruined the experience though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: location and cleanliness
Cons: continental breakfast
nice and clean a continental breakfast would have been nice for that price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Happy couple from LA. We loved Raj!

Posted Apr 7, 2016
We chose this hotel primarily because we got a better offer comparing to others that call themselves resort, along with excellent reviews in Expedia and TripAdvisor. Our stay was an excelent experience for few reasons but the first reason was freindly staff specially the front desk assistant manager, Raj. He treated us like family, check in was a breez. Room were clean and uad everything we needed to be comfortable. We even upgraded to an ocean view with balcony because Raj gave us a good deal!!! Eddie the bell gentleman is freindly and a good local guide! Food at the restaurant was good but they can train or use few more servers to speed up. Plenty of cheaper eating places are around. There is a Chinese massage place nearby that gave us a great deal highly recommended. Pool is relatively small but pleasant mostly with kids and families around it. There is a street between hotel and the beach that you need to cross to get to the beach.We used their bike rental and went to Carlsbad village a must experience. We sat by the fire pits at night! Overall this might not be a super luxury resort but well located and regarding the deal we got was an excellent experience. There was another lady working along with Raj at the front desk that avoided making eye contact and never greeted us??? Cons: Hotel is not on the beach, no steam room, small pool, parking cost, restaurant servers, food price, RV park in front of the hotel, lack of a game room. Overall highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Great pool area for young kids

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Pool area and water temperature was warm.
Cons: I felt as if the receptionist didn't make an effort to orient me to the hotel... pulling out a map was only something she did reluctantly as I asked.
Location: Legoland.
This hotel was close to Legoland. We arrived late afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the pool area for our children. Water was warm. Poolside service was accommodating with towels and refreshments. Hotel room was spacious and even the bathroom was roomy. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Apr 6, 2016
The Cape Rey as located in a beautiful area, which was right next to the ocean. Our only regret, was that we could not stay longer.