Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Coast

Rooms with a View

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Parking included, location, furnishings, view.
Cons: Staff was less than helpful. When we arrived, we were told we'd be texted when room was ready. That didn't happen. Room was inadequately cleaned.
Location: Location is ideal; too many possible activities to enumerate.
The Capri is perfectly located on the ocean near restaurants, Crystal Pier, and most of San Diego attractions. Parking is included, which is a real perk at the beach. Our unit had been very attractively renovated and was comfortable except for the sofa bed mattress, which left much to be desired. The unit was supplied with adequate cooking equipment. Our particular unit was assigned a parking space that was very hard to drive into & left inches to squeeze out of; most spaces are more convenient. You can't beat the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Unit 704

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! Right on Pacific Beach.
Cons: The management should remove this unit as an option for Expedia, or correct the description to accurately portray the size of the beds
Location: It's right on the beach!
I have had three previous stays at Capri By The Sea, and they were all great. Unfortunately, my luck ran out with this visit. This particular unit (#704) was not as advertised on Expedia, and it appears that the owner misrepresented the accommodations to the managers. I paid for a unit with a queen bed and a sleeper sofa; in reality, the unit had 2 full beds and a futon. When I questioned the full bed with the front desk manager, she informed me that Capri by The Sea "only has queen beds". When I informed her that the bed was indeed a 50 inch wide full size bed (queens are 60 inches wide, by definition), and that it was so short, that my feet were hanging off the end of the bed, there was no action taken; no one from management could be bothered to even come to the room to address the issues personally. To add insult to injury, upon further inspection, the bed linens were stained with what appeared to be feces, and the housekeeper was sent to change the linens; even the housekeeper conceded that these were full sized beds, not queen sized. The management should remove this unit as an option for Expedia, or correct the description to accurately portray the size of the beds, and then charge the customer for a unit with full size bed. What a disappointment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View Of The Beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Hotel was absolutely amazing ! I highly recommend this hotel . Super clean and super quiet. Very relaxing . Right by the ocean. You can hear the waves from your room . Only problem we had was the parking space . It was very compact but I have a big truck so if you have a car it wouldn't be a problem. Overall great place and experience. Definitely will be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Great view, great beach

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: The phones didn't work
Location: Close to shopping, dining and bars with great views on the beach.
We stayed on the 11th floor in a two bedroom condo, it was awesome. The view was unbeatable. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils, the beds were comfortable and the staff were very helpful. I would highly recommend Capri by the Sea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Great location. Good food places within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very close to the everything, but far enough to avoid the noise. We look forward to having you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Fantastic location, quiet, older style room but nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Location on the beach. . . magnificent views of the ocean and Mission Beach, as well as the San Diego skyline. The 2 bedroom unit was beautiful!
Cons: Please refer to the detailed comments above.
Location: lRight on the beach! Everything . . . .stores, restaurants. . . within walking distance of the Resort.
The location and the resort itself was superb. Customer service, however, left much to be desired. . . .a lot of "disorganization" in various areas. For example, we had been assured of Early Check-in. Although we arrived at 2:30 PM, the room was "not yet ready". Another situation: we were inadvertently locked out of the bedroom one evening at 7 PM ( we were traveling with a three year old and an 18 month old, and kids will be kids !) The building manager had to be called from off-site after repeated efforts by the Security Staff on duty were unsuccessful in getting the door open. The door was eventually unlocked at 9:30 PM, and both gentlemen were very courteous and accommodating, but really! Shouldn't a master key be readily available on the premises? Another consideration might be for increased/improved signage throughout the facility. The pool, for example, is not directly on the property. It must be accessed by using the freight elevator and walking through the lower tier of the parking garage, A few signs pointing the way would certainly help! Perhaps part of the disparity of communication is because many of the condo units are individually owned, so the number of units available to travelers is limited. Obviously the "issues" of both of these groups can vary considerably. Still, the resort has chosen to accommodate travelers, and as such the staff should be better prepared / trained in doing so.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Condo

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Capri By The Sea offers great views and a comfortable setting for families, friends, and group travel. Sadly, the building is old and our unit had minor issues such as heating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No room rented even with our reservation

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Horrible, booked a room with Expedia and confirmed... drove 400 miles to have them tell me and my family, they "over booked" and did not have room for us.