Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad bad bad

Posted Aug 16, 2015
$200 a night for this? For $30 bucks more I could've stayed at The Inn at Rancho Santa Fe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, England

Nice hotel close to beach & shops.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: See above. Location, service, facilities, staff.
Cons: Some furniture damaged. Bed-side lamps did not work.
Location: See above.
Welcoming friendly staff introduced us to the amenities, room and rooftop garden. Sea view even from ground floor. Off-street parking if desired. Rooftop garden a real bonus: a) to see sunsets over the Pacific, b) able to take own picnic there, c) hot water Jacuzzi. Local shops. enormous beach and good restaurants in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique place

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The uniqueness and each room was different. And the rooms are very large. Also, pets are welcome.
Cons: Some paint here, and new carpet there
Location: Beach, biking, hiking, restaurants, surfing.... a lot of stuff to do.
This lodge/hotel is so different from the others, and so personable, that it stands out from the rest. The price was reasonable, and the personalized service, especially the manager, was appreciated. If Cardiff Lodge wants to sell - I want to buy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york city

Lovely hotel experience

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: the room and location
Location: the beach,restaurants,nearby bus transportation and train so can explore
Stayed 3 nights,and my room was lovely,didn't know the rooms were individually decorated,nice touch;large room,convenient to beach,bus and stores.Nice eating breakfast outside,and the rooftop terrace with the hot tub was great;staff helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Good place to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Great bakery and Italian restaurant just a block away. Ocean is a couple blocks away.
Johnson, the front desk manager was very personable and accommodating. Upgraded me to a premium room. Like many places in this area with an ocean view also means train noise so you my want to think twice about leaving your windows open for the ocean breeze at night. Don't bother with the continental breakfast other than its convenient place to get coffee in the AM. A little effort in the breakfast area would make this place with its beautiful patios an incredible experience. Almost feels like a really nice B&B.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redlands, CA

Close walk to beach.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
I loved the location and friendly staff and was pleased with the continental breakfast. Carpet a was a little too dirty, but overall a cool place to stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

location wonderful hotel not that nice

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
It wasn't the nice the room smell horrible the room we had to move to another room and the toilet wasn't working the bathtub was not working water just got stuck We left a day earlier the lobby smell bad the staff was really wonderful we would like to go back because of the location but we are afraid that might get those rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very Pleased Overall

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Room was above average in most respects. Older but clean. I checked diligently and no signs of bed bugs. Bed was very comfortable. Internet speed was inconsistent. Location was 10 out of 10 in my book. You can walk to everything a traveler needs including an excellent bakery, restaurants, coffee shops and the beach. Absolutely loved the location. Staff was polite and the continental breakfast was acceptable. I would definitely stay here again but will be prepared to use my mobile hotspot for internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from NE Ohio

Great stay

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wish I could of stayed for more than one night. Loved the view from the roof top.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels