Ratings based on 3,379 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
We have stayed at Carlsbad by the Sea several times. It is our choice of hotels when we are in Carlsbad!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really worth the price level

Posted Feb 28, 2017
This hotel was not near the sea, which makes the name a little misleading. The TV did not work, and it was very noisy both outside and with the kids running around in the room above us. The bathroom was pretty dirty. We ended our stay there after one night, we found a hotel that was actually near the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Legoland and Outlets

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: it was pretty quiet and comfty
Location: freeway, outlets, and Legoland
Hotel was nice- 6 min away from Legoland and Across the Street from Outlets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Close to shops, gas and Beach

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Showing its age a little, but clean , good Location and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping and restaurants. Family friendly

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The front desk person that checked us in was super friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Feb 27, 2017
This hotel is just OK. Be sure that you LOVE kids because there are a lot of them running around. If you want to go to the beach, pack up your car. It is not close enough to walk. The breakfast was a free for all every morning. Same items every day. Long lines for the toaster and once again lots of kids. If you are looking for a quiet getaway pay a little more for a property on the west side of the of I-5 freeway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to legoland, outlets.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Last minute booking. Good hotel great price. Close to food, shopping and legoland. Easy on off to freeway as well. Pool was fun, view was amazing. Breakfast was crowded and left something to be desired. I would recommend this place and stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is a nice hotel and has a good breakfast

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The shuttle too and from lego land. The breakfast and hot tub/pool. Room is well cleaned.
Cons: bedbug covers!!! good practice for full all hotels. I like no carpeted floor again for easier more effective cleaning
Location: Close to the retail outlet and lots of food options. If we were not so tired we could have walked to the beach which is a few miles!!
My son and I were happy with out stay. The room appeared clean and had a balcony. The microwave area is a bit small for any real food prep, however fridge was good and functioning well. It is important to note you must bring any food prep items the fridge and microwave are it!! The beds were comfortable and even though they did not have bed bug covers (which all hotels should!!) they were easy to check and appeared good. The shuttle was excellent for lego land. Wanted to get to the beach (beach is a little ways!!) however our time of year made it difficult as the shuttle needs to focus on lego land pick ups (so if you want to see the beach go on a day you do not go to lego land lol). Swimming pool and hot tub were good and they had towels at the pool site. Laundry was available, however need to check if someone left any tissue. Recked a few items do to this, checked our pockets but must have missed something in washer. Staff were nice, one gal is a bit !! unaccomodating, however overall was very happy when I dealt with anyone else. I will stay at this hotel again. Ps the King fisher place next door is a NO. I had signs of significant food problems after eating a very yucky fish and chips which were very expensive and let the place no, however they did not even contact me back!! The pizza place across was excellent and reasonable. Ps Breakfast was great english muffins with sausage and eggs, yogurt, lots more.. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, CA

Nice hotel close to Legoland and Outlet Mall.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Cheaper price and more shuttle hotel <-> Legoland. Breakfast quality can be better.
Location: Very close to shopping mall, highway and Legoland.
I have never try to shop just next to the hotel, this is the first time and very convenient. After playing with kids in Legoland, we still have enough time to shop there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego california

A bit run down

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Stayed for two nights. Rooms are a bit run down. Hotel staff who greeted us were wonderful. Night staff was rude. They gave us a free shuttle to dinner. The drivers were friendly, helpful, and courteous.