Ratings based on 2,673 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's better than a three star hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Even it's near to the road, it's quiet. The staff are patient. The breakfast was not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from menifee, Ca

Nice getaway

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Very clean and close to a lot of restaurant choices and beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st albert , ab

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: good shopping and restaurants are close by and the ocean is a short walk across the highway
Cons: we weren't given the room we booked and weren't told that we received an upgrade until I went and asked why we didn't have the pool view we asked for.
Location: shopping, restaurants and the ocean are nearby
need better signage for the workout facility and the lighting inside was poor but the breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub were also good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg,Canada

Vacation at Carlsbad

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Clean and the pool and hot tub are great.
Location: Legoland is nearby and you can take a shuttle from this hotel. There is a huge shopping outlet across the street.
The grounds are very nice and the pool and hot tub are great. The complimentary breakfast is very good. Well maintained hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara, México.

EXCELENTE UBICACION

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: ubicación
Cons: el agua de la alberca es muy fría.
Location: Todo muy cerca.
Excelente ubicación justo frente a la plaza outlet. Varias opciones para comer. Y a solo 3 minutos de Legoland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Quaint cozy hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Nothing bad, nothing special. Free breakfast with mini premade omelettes and sausages was good. Walking distance to outlet mall and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Its nice its close to food, shopping, etc

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Its close to Premium Outlets and the Flower Farm ans Legoland, im not sure why its called by the sea ? Its not beside the shoreline but just close and u need to pass Hway 5 then you reach the sea?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth it

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Great location for walking! Nice, helpful staff. Clean pool, comfy rooms. We couldn't figure out the Guide on the TV and someone immediately came up to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange Co. CA

Very nice, comfortable convenient hotel.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Cost, convenience, attractiveness, comfort, breakfast!
Cons: Our bed was a little too soft. Everything else was fine!
Location: Please see all of the above.
Carlsbad by the sea resort was on the inland side of Interstate 5, so much more reasonably priced than others. It was just a few blocks from the beach and from Legoland, and many families were visiting them. The staff was helpful and very charming. Great breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandy, UT

Nice hotel, great staff.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: It is in a very nice part of Carlsbad. Close to shopping, the beach, the interstate, and Coaster stations. The rooms (and bathrooms) are nice & clean
The hotel is nice; older but nice. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with suggestions on transportation to the beach and also Old Town San Diego. I would never have thought of taking the Coaster had the front desk not suggested it. They were very helpful in taking us to and from LegoLand, the Coaster stations, helping us figure out the Coaster schedule, and how to get around at the beach. Of course, breakfast onsite is always a perk when traveling. Breakfast wasn't gourmet, but it was filling and had several options from which to choose.