Ratings based on 2,898 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A nice getaway stay in San Diego

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The location, grounds appearance and staff. We enjoyed the pool area as well.
Cons: Updating the rooms...more comfortable chairs and mattresses.
Location: We walked both Mission Beach and Pacific Beach and ate various places up and down the beach corridor.
We enjoyed our stay at the Catamaran. Great location with easy walking access to beaches and restaurants. The staff and grounds crew were great and the service was on point and the grounds were very nicely maintained. The exercise area was well appointed and clean. The room/hotel could definitely use some updating, but overall a really positive experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel is expensive and needs to be updated.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and on the bay.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated.
My first room was run down and needed repairs. I complained and was eventually switched to a nicer room. Great location but I will not stay there again. Way overpriced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Nice looking resort the staff was pretty nice, thr grounds were an exotic theme with Koi in the stteams, ducks wandering around and exotic bird. Our room had a kitchen however there was no real place to eat. There was a bar but no stools and the only other area to eat was the desk. Could've use a smaLloyd dining table.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Love the Hotel feels like you are in Hawaii. Love the birds,ducks and fish. Would more outlets in the rooms and CD player. Slow at cleaning the rooms cleaned close to 4pm. Overall excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Beds are terribly uncomfortable, but the location and activities close by more than make up for it. On the bay, and a one-block walk to the ocean. Lots of restaurants in walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel by Mission Bay.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
There is a lot of things to do onsite. Nice location by the Mission bay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OHIO

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: excellent
This is the second time we have stayed with you and we loved both experiences.. The staff was excellent. And we will be back for sure. Thank you all so much for making our trip wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, but has some issues

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Room set up was inconvenient for garden view room in Towers. Bed so close to the curtains for person getting in on that side, you had to turn you face away so you didn't rub against old curtains. Patio door did not lock but the worst thing were the ducks that are allowed to walk throughout the property, including lobby and patio where happy hour is held. Problem is that they don't clean up after the ducks right away so the floor on patio is filthy. Duck waste was in the main lobby for at least 2 hours that I saw before being cleaned. People walking around barefooted. Very gross
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson Az

We found an Oasis in San Diego! The Catamaran!!!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: The interior grounds are lush and full of beautiful vegetation, complete with ponds full of koi, ducks and turtles.
Cons: Not all web sights explained: Parking is tight in San Diego, so there is a fee for parking your car at the hotel - this is true all year long.
Location: Located on Mission Bay on one side and the Ocean on the other. With plenty of shopping and food within walking distance (3 to 5 miles one way).
Staff is friendly and inviting along with being very helpful. We visited the restaurant for dinner and were delighted with everything the Hotel had to offer, both in: the menu and the atmosphere, eating outside enjoying the gorgeous view of the bay. *Note the Hotel offers a Luau during the summer months. Something to add to my wish list for next visit. We were able to enjoy the hotel on Labor Day when the rates go down for most hotels in this area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

So much to do within walking distance

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The room was a little small and the bathroom was underwhelming. Seemed clean but there were some black mold spots. Overall hotel had a lot to offer. Small pool but it wasn't ever too crowded. Beautiful beach with a water activities available. My only real complaint is the price of parking. $25 seems very high to me.