Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Would stay again!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Stayed here for 6 days. Hotel Staff was very friendly, hotel is in good condition, and room was very clean. Breakfast area was very clean and my kids think they have the best waffles. Only 2 downfalls was elevators and cell reception. As for elevators one was out of order, the other ran very slow. As for cell reception, it was very spotty in hotel due to the thick concrete walls.
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear the “hotel staff was very friendly”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Look around for other hotels.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Very minimal contact with staff. Only one of the two elevators worked and it was slow. The beds were soft and uncomfortable. Breakfast was decent, a lot of choice. They do have a pool and hot tub but it is open to a parking lot with no privacy. Not many places to eat or shop close by. Our room was completely overlooked by cleaning staff the second last day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenges you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff, so that improvements can be made. Our hotel shares the parking lot with a Mexican restaurant and there are several other eateries within walking distance. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Great experience, located centrally, easy to find. Nice neighborhood. Parking was a little limited but overall experience, good night's sleep. ...which is all that matters.
Comment from EPC
Aug 20, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear you had a “great experience” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable stay and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

OK Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Not bad for the price, average hotel which is good but not fancy.
Comment from EPC
Aug 20, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Mingou, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Visiting my son. Easy yo get back and forth to the downtown area and back to hotel. Several restaurants in area(within walking distance). Mall less than a mile from hotel. It was a great choice for the family.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Michelle, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear our hotel was a great choice for your family. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Very nice and welcoming staff! Windows on highway side need more insulation to help block highway noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear we have “very nice and welcoming staff”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. Please know your suggestion has been brought to the attention of our staff, in hopes of making improvements. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guadalajara

Excellent choice to visit san diego

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Excellent hotel, clean, comfortable and with great access either with or without a car. If visiting san diego for shopping or sightseeing this is one of your best options. Will definetely come Back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear we are an “excellent hotel”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Excellent hotel, very clean and recently renovated

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms, clean bathroom, very comfortable bed with lots of pillows.
Cons: Add card readers to the stairs entrances so that guests can actually use the stairs to get back in the hotel instead of using elevator.
Location: Safe location, large mall with movie theater is 5 mins away. Quick access to 805 freeway centrally located to where key SD attractions are real close.
My wife & I recently visited San Diego, given that Comic Con was happening that weekend, it was difficult to find hotel rooms and more importantly, decently priced hotels. We had stayed at this hotel before when it was a Ramada or something else, so we knew it was an 'ok' hotel, however, after new ownership and renovations I would put it in the excellent hotel category. The room we stayed in seemed to be recently renovated, very clean, very spacious (included fridge and microwave), and most importantly, the bed was incredibly comfortable (included 6 or 8 pillows on the King size bed, which is an additional plus). The hotel itself is located right next to the 805 freeway, which means you are 10 minutes away from the border, 10-15 minutes away from down town San Diego, 15-20 minutes or less from Mission Beach (Sea World), 5-10 minutes from the Zoo and 15 minutes or so from the airport, so very well located in regards to access and vicinity to key locations in SD. Additionally, there's a Burger King and a Mexican seafood place right outside the hotel. In regards to the free breakfast, it was pretty good, only had it once but they had eggs, sausage, waffles and the 'usual' stuff as well. The only negative thing I would note would be the elevators, they were SLOW, which in the grand scheme of things it is not a big deal (we had to wait 60+ seconds for the elevator to make it from floor 2 to floor 1 instead of 15 seconds or so), but I know some folks really dislike this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear JFR, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear we are an “excellent hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Nice hotel close to convention center

Posted Jul 17, 2015
We stayed here during the San Diego Comic Con. The staff is courteous and welcoming. The rooms were nice. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Alejandra, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear “the staff is courteous and welcoming”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Great stay

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Only complaint would be the elevators. One not working and other not working well. Long wait with only one elevator for the whole hotel. Other than that great, friendly staff and clean rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear S.P., Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear you had a “great stay” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. Please rest assured, the situation involving our elevators, has been addressed. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.