Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jameson

Nice staff clean & helpful

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Easy access to everything - good breakfast & parking. Clean & nice staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoking Room

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to San Diego
Cons: Cleanliness
I booked a non-smoking room on your site, as advertised. When I arrived, I was given a smoking room without any notification from the hotel staff. The smoke was discovered when I entered the room. I looked for hours for another hotel to stay at, but none were available. I called the hotel staff and the said they could do nothing for me, the manager was unavailable until Monday, but would contact met on Monday. The hotel staff offered spray as a solution for the smoke. My family (including my one-year old son) were forced to leave the room and roam the halls until 1 am in the morning, while I stated behind with the window open, fan on, and door to our room propped open. They returned shortly after one am, and went to sleep exhausted. I stayed up, until after 3 am, to keep watch as the door to our room needed to remain open. We were moved to another room the next day, which shared a wall with the one and only elevator for this hotel. Every time the elevator was used, the wall vibrated and was louder than the tv. The manager never reached out to me, and we did not speak until I was checking out on Wednesday. It is unacceptable for hotel staff to place anyone in a smoking room, let alone a family with a small child. It is unacceptable for hotel staff to have a solution in place to address these issues as they occur, and have to wait several days for a solution from a manager. It is unacceptable for the general manager of the hotel to not reach out to guests who hav
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you faced during your stay with us. We always aim to wow our guests and we’re disappointed that we missed the mark with you. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking, unfortunately some guests break that rule and we don’t find out about it until long after they’re gone. We understand your frustration and we’re sorry that we didn’t act on this immediately. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope that you’ll give us another chance in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Nice for a short stay!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The room itself was spacious, updated and clean. The hallways, elevators and doors seemed old and dingy. Free breakfast in the morning was very good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

nice hotel good location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The staff was extremely nice and helpful when needed. Was close to shopping and restaurant areas close to the beaches and major attractions in the surrounding areas
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for providing us with feedback on the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are pleased to hear that our hotel suited your needs. We always aim to provide all of guests with helpful service and we are touched that you noticed. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near shopping centers, restaurants, and popular attractions. We’re happy to know that was convenient for you. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We would love for you to stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Union city, CA

Nice hotel for short business trip

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Close to where I wanted to go.
Cons: Bathroom has no lock.
Location: Right location for my purpose.
Pricey for 2 rooms for 2 days (total $670) for a 2 star hotel. Breakfast is standard and acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Flor, Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs during your short business trip. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we’re glad to have achieved that with you. Please know, our hotel’s rate reflects the demand in the area along with the location. It’s often that hotel rates fluctuate based on those two factors. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Good stay for the price paid. Limited parking was a problem. Breakfast is okay. Overall would stay again,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we are glad to have accomplished said task. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not working elevator made it difficult.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Close to freeway made travel easy. San Diego is worth visiting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Rudy, Thank you for investing the time to review the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. We are currently in the process of getting our elevator permit sorted out and we thank you for your patience. As you mentioned, we are located close to the freeway and we are glad that was of convenience for you. We hope to see you again in the future and once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
5 out of 5
by Oscar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to local area malls

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: close to local malls and eateries.
Cons: better business room amenities. Separated away and enclosed to be able to conduct work, business conversations.
Location: location is right next to the 805 hwy. Close by local malls and places to eat. Beach is about 20 mins away.
decent stay with friendly staff for a business trip. Located out and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but not too far from work. Good place to stay if your just passing through the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback on the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We always aim to provide our guests with friendly service and we are thrilled that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near popular attractions in San Diego and we are glad that you got to enjoy them during your stay with us. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by George from California

Good hotel, poor elevators

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The beds were very comfortable. The room size is average. This is our 6th stay at this hotel and we will keep coming back. The only complaint are the elevators. There are two elevators and over the past year, they have only had one elevator working at a time. They blame the city permit inspectors, but I don't believe that excuse. So expect slow elevator service.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear George, Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear that you are a repeat customer and will continue to stay with us. Please know, your concerns are important to us and are taken seriously. Permits are very important and always take time. Unfortunately, we have to work with our city’s schedule for that matter and will hopefully be resolved before your next stay with us. Once more, thank you for providing us with feedback on the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit.