Ratings based on 741 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice, newly renovated rooms.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location and room (except for notes above).
Cons: Elevators were terrible (condition and speed). General maintenance.
Location: Ferry area with restaurants and little shops. Lots of bike paths.
Check in was ok but the desk clerk sent us to the wrong end of the hotel and at this hotel that was a hike. Elevators were old and extremely slow. Lots of obvious maintenance items. Room itself was newly renovated and was quite nice. Every morning when we woke up the AC was showing heat and trying to get to 70 where we had the thermostat set. Room was 66 degrees and the only way I could get the fan to shut off was to turn the temperature down to 66 where it thought it was satisfied. Second morning the same thing. I mentioned this to the staff and they said maintenance would be up to check on it. Next morning same thing. When I went to the FD the clerk said he would get someone to talk to me. Tom, head of maintenance came up and explained that their boilers for heating were down and they were trying to get them back up. Finally worked on the 4th morning. No heat for 3 days and nothing said to staff or guests??? Exhaust didn't work--maintenance said their spare motor didn't work either. Printer in business center wouldn't work. Location is great, pool area nice. Just needs work -- not what I would expect from a Marriott.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort on the bay in San Diego.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Our room was very tastefully decorated, appointed and comfortable. Great poolside experience, outdoor restaurant, great bathroom lighting.
Cons: The newly decorated room was great with one exception, the bedside lighting was too dim. No reading at night. Some outdoor garden areas need rehab.
Location: Easy walk to a few nice restaurants and tourist type of shopping. The view is pleasing, but south view is less interesting....more industrial.
The staff at this location were exceptional. Helpful, professional and happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic stay will definitely come back again

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Quite, great for family
Cons: Front desk (Danielle) can be more helpful
Location: Within walking distance to ferry landing, you can do bike ride, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. Coronado is very clean and family friendly
We were placed in the newly renovated room, very nice, clean and overlooking the water. Conveniently located not far from ferry landing which is only 5 minutes walk, a lot of nice restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Wonderful rooms and great dining
Cons: I hate that hotels are now charging so much for internet and parking. Most Marriott properties are excessive with these charges.
We stayed here for a couples weekend and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the newly renovated section of the hotel. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we both had a wonderful night sleep. Our patio overlooked the bay and the SD skyline, a perfect spot to relax in the evening and have breakfast in the morning. We ordered room service for breakfast every morning. Every meal we had was superb. The breakfast sausage was phenomenal and the pancakes divine, some of the best I've ever had. Even my poached eggs were cooked perfectly. This hotel is in close proximity to the Coronado Hotel, an easy bike ride or long walk. There are many dining options around the hotel as well as a great restaurant in the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will stay here everytime we come to Coronado Island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service from all of the staff.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Work trip and experience with staff was excellent all around - from valet to concierge to front desk. Food at hotel was very good. Room was recently renovated and was clean and spacious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline

Stay here for best hotel in Coronado not 'The Del'

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Great experience. We requested a new renovated room from reading previous reviews, which was great, lovely room, great hotel - better than the Del.
Cons: Switch the water features off at night to reduce background noise and make wifi free, guests are paying for more than a cup of coffee its 2016!!!
Location: Going to the San Diego area I would recommend you stay on Coronado Island, great location giving you a relaxed high end vibe & easy access to area.
We couldn't decide between here and the Del for weeks before booking, it was cheaper to stay here but colleagues from Costa Mesa had recommended the Del hotel. My daughter ended up making the casting vote and choosing here - so glad we delegated to the kids!! Absolutely fantastic hotel. Staff were first rate. I met a maintenance man in the elevator one morning and was blown away by his conversation, asking about my stay and offering to sort anything that may crop up during our 6 day stay to ensure a great stay. I did have one issue with wifi access and associated fees (if a coffee shop gives me wifi for free for buying a coffee - why does a hotel think its acceptable to charge me??) and went down to complain, there were a few people in front of me at the front desk and I displayed displeasure obviously in the wait time and the general manager appeared from somewhere and got me sorted out in a minute then spent some time talking through my visit ensuring they provided the best possible service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great location!!

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Highly recommend this hotel. Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to provide services. The room was newly renovated and they upgraded our room at check-in for an even better view of the harbor which was nice. We really enjoyed the location of this hotel to the restaurants which were all within walking or biking distance. And, it's only a quick cab or bike ride to the other side of the island near the beach for more great places to shop and eat. The island was definitely better than the downtown area hotels if you enjoy a little quieter & cleaner setting. Great access to the ferry for quick crossing to downtown. If you are planning to kayak, whale watch or go to the zoo, check with the concierge as they helped us plan better and save $$ on them all- even better than group on deals. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s rocky point ny

Posted Apr 5, 2016
The hotel is right by the water. Nice pool out Back with hot tub and outside bar by pool. The only small misses I had was I booked room for 5 people and called the afternoon of arrival to make sure they put the roll away bed in the room for my son. When o checked in around midnight after a long day the bed was not there and we needed to call for it and they said they had to locate it. It did arrive in a timely manner and the rest of the stay was great. Even enjoyed room service next morning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Muy buen hotel...el personal nada agradable pero por lo demás excelente !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family friendly, great pool and unbeatably views!!

Posted Mar 29, 2016
When our flight got delayed due to weather, the staff worked with us and found us another room until we could fly home. Great staff, great remodeled rooms, and incredible views of San Diego!!