Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Quaint and charming

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This historical treasure was fun, and right in Old Town. Rooms are each unique. Clean and nice. Courtyard restaurant is nice, and the outdoor bar is nice with warmers all around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Desert, CA

Love this hotel!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent! The room was great! We enjoyed everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We love Old Town San Diego, so staying at the Cosmopolitan was very convenient. If you love history, this is the perfect place to visit and stay.
First time staying at the Cosmopolitan, we came to celebrate our 27th anniversary. Our room was small, but very nice. Comfortable bed, loved the shower, the old ambiance was fantastic! We did miss having a TV, however it was nice to sit and read the journal entries from previous guests and add our own. (Every room comes with a journal) We didn't have the chance to eat at the restaurant, but it was so nice to walk around in Old Town. We did not experience any paranormal activity, but maybe next time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Basic hotel- lots of character. Great location. No pool or tv- small rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wild Wild West getaway

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The hotel is located in the center of Old Town San Diego , surrounded by little shops, restaurants, and music.
The Cosmopolitan was build in 1827. Very nice renovations done with an authentic old wild west feel. Our host was dressed in a 1800 frontier skirt showed us to our room. Clean comfortable bed with vintage decor. No TV just made it more relaxing, (Wifi is available )
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awsome Hotel!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Food, Libations, Music, Tours, Football!!!
Excellent Hotel, Beautiful Ambiance, Friendly Staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely located in the middle of Old Town.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Amenities.
Location: Old town is an interesting historical area. There are plenty of nice places to eat in the area as well.
The hotel is located in the middle of Old Town which is a charming part of San Diego. The hotel is old, so if you like old and rustic, you'll love this place. I prefer a hotel with functioning internet and a TV, so it was not a good fit. The noise from nearby I-5 is an issue as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Nice location, right in the middle of the plaza. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from so calif

old town san diego

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
1 night stay, hotel is in old town so you could walk to everything,many choices for shopping and food. The bed was small, trash truck was there at 5 am waking you up, trains come by often, so it was somewhat noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great break from traditional hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Orbitz
If you're looking for a unique experience this is the hotel for you. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff welcomes you and yours your room. Take the time to read the journal in the room about past guest experirnces. Our room had a giant 40 gallon copper tub - fabulous! Period decor is nice and rooms are clean. We knew there was no TV which gave us ample reading time during our stay. Great wifi connection but not enough electrical outlets in all areas of room. Also wish there was more variety at continental breakfast. I would definitely recommend and would stay again.