Ratings based on 1,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from conyers, GA

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Aug 16, 2015
We were here for family emergency. We booked the room at the last minute. Rooms were older but well maintained and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

My family will never stay here again

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The staff is incompetent. The Islands food is horrible. The restroom is moldy. The room is stuffy and the beds were old and lumpy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Round Rock , TX

Dated hotel but close to beaches

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Dated hotel but close to beaches and downtown San Diego.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

Old and smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
As soon as we entered our first trim the smoke smell was so bad we asked to be moved. The second room was OK but within a few guys smoke again smelled in our room. While they may claim no smoking is permitted the fact is the smell rolls through the building. The room was ok but the carpet was just plain worn out with holes and edges frayed. The bed was clearly old and worn out. For the price you should go somewhere nice. Save you money and stay at the Motel 6 next door it could not be worst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA

Centrally located!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice amenities. Clean rooms.
Location: It is centrally located near downtown San Diego, restaurants, and sights.
This was my second time staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. My husband and I will be moving to the area and this is the hotel we will be would recommending to our friends and family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Dimas, CA

San Diego Fathers Day weekend 2015

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We had an amazing time in San Diego. We visited old town. Went to an air show in El Cajon. Spent time in our hotel room. Staff was great at check in. Pool area was awesome. Overall experience was great. Down side is that this hotel requires you to pay a $12 fee to park in their parking lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Dirty room, sheets had brown spots in them, bugs appeared ln the sheets also, we called and they wouldn't do anything about it, really disgusting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Hills, CA

Location and comfort

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Quiet and clean. Great staff. The location appears to have been upgraded over the years. Only a few minutes to downtown San Diego.
Cons: The only letdown was older carpets in the hotel room and restaurant. They were clean, no obvious odors, but they seemed dated and a worn.
Location: Downtown San Diego minutes away. Seaport Village. Mission Bay. San Diego NFL football stadium. Mission Valley shopping.
I've visited San Diego for 30 years, but this was my first time at the Crowne Plaza. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and quietness of the hotel at such a busy location. We had an upper room facing the palm trees and the golf course. Great view. The kids loved the pool, and we enjoyed the Sunday buffet too. And the fact that it's a Tiki decor hotel was a bonus for us. Honestly, this was nicer than some of the tourist hotels I've stayed at when visiting Oahu and Maui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and safe hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: comfortable, clean, peaceful
Cons: Didn't like the motel 6 next door to it (although there's a fence in between)
Location: close to the mall
Comfortable, quiet and tropical. Has nice waterfalls and green lush areas. Included relaxation lotion and spray (trial size) to help you relax. Had a ton of cable channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Thank you!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The staff was so nice. Easy to get to. Enough parking. Comfy room.
Cons: The walls are a bit thin but it wasn't a make or break deal!
Location: We were right in the middle of my best friend's house and down town/balboa park, where we spent most of our time. Easy to get to both places!
My boyfriend and I booked with Crowne Plaza based on reviews we had read. We were not disappointed! When we first checked in, Tish was VERY friendly and comped our parking, which was unexpected. We walked into our room and was greeted with a nice, comfy looking room. Every time we walked through the lobby, someone in the staff would say hello or smile at us. We couldn't be more happy with our stay and will definitely be back. Thank you Crowne Royal staff for making my boyfriend and I's stay for his birthday a happy one!