Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemet, CA

Nice, warm atmosphere and close to the beach

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: the beach being so close
Cons: can't turn the whole hotel towards the beach:) so nothing
Location: only one night so didn't venture out too much but found it to be convenient
First time at Del Mar Hotel and we will come The staff was excellent and loved the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, poor communication

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Communication
Location: Beach front and food near by.
Arrived before check-in and was advised, room ready in a little while. Wait was 2 1/2 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Right on beach, walking distance to restaurants and train station
Retro and fun, unassuming. Relaxing. Family oriented
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice beach

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Whoever the maid service is...I never saw them, but they did an excellent job keeping our linens changed and straightening up the room. Ted was great
Cons: Maybe offering coupons for nearby restaurants or free waters would help. Just an intense cleaning and fresh bedspreads would help
Location: Good spot on the beach...nice walks...restaurants close by.
The desk clerk who checked us in was less than enthusiastic which made first impressions rough. He was more interested in going over the "rules" than he was welcoming. I found out later that their were beach chairs, umbrellas and towels available for use but he never mentioned it. He also never mentioned that we could get coffee in the lobby. Our room smelled like intense old cleaning solutions...It was "ok" but the dust boards throughout were very dirty. The bedspread was very old and worn out. The sound of other people walking upstairs throughout the night was so loud you had to turn on the a/c to drown out the noise. The filter was dirty so we cleaned it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Always a joy...

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Poseidon is the BEST! Right next door and food is the Bomb!
Been going to this little Motel on the Beach for 50 years now...although it is showing signs of decay by being by the beach for so many years...the location is perfect! Steps from my door to the sand and sea. Internet is spotty as is cellular service as building is cement or something...but year after year I keep coming back...it is all about location and I love Mikki the GM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Great experience great location Older hotel but in good condition. Great location, easy to get anywhere in Del mar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PS

Great Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants. Beach front, but the rooms face the parking lots on either side. Tight parking and limited spots. The train tracks are nearby, so you do hear an occasional train. The rooms are older and dated, but comfortable. The staff were all very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The best beach hotel in North County!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Love its proximity to beach and restaurants, you never have to leave. A short walk to the main street with lots of cafes and shopping.
Cons: the beds are good, but better blankets or light comforters would be nice.
Location: Check out the horse races, eat at the Fish Market for the best seafood, take some fresh fish back to the hotel to grill on their awesome bbq grills.
Such a great place for a family stay—right on the beach. Quiet, quaint, clean and comfy. Just a few steps out and you're on the one of the nicest swimming beaches in the area. Right next door to the lifeguard station and a couple of excellent restaurants. Been staying here since I was a kid in the 60's. It's an older motel, but it's just so charming, and the amenities are amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Surprisingly quiet hotel given the great location on the beach and within walking distance to shopping and bars/restaurants. Missing the 'wow' factor but overall nice and clean and good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
It was a very enjoyable stay will come back again for stay