Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Excellent location!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We pick this hotel because of its location to the beach and the ability to walk to Delmar. Unfortunately it rained all the days we were there so we could not enjoy the beach and that made us noticed the rooms TV is very tiny. But if the sun had been out nothing about the room's short coming would have mattered much. Excellent location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
I will for sure stay there again and recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemet, CA

Nice, warm atmosphere and close to the beach

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: the beach being so close
Cons: can't turn the whole hotel towards the beach:) so nothing
Location: only one night so didn't venture out too much but found it to be convenient
First time at Del Mar Hotel and we will come The staff was excellent and loved the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, poor communication

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Communication
Location: Beach front and food near by.
Arrived before check-in and was advised, room ready in a little while. Wait was 2 1/2 hours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price even for the location.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The motel is very old & outdated. There were stains on the comforter and the room felt dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Right on beach, walking distance to restaurants and train station
Retro and fun, unassuming. Relaxing. Family oriented
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a sandy beach weekend

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very simple beach hotel. The décor and furniture are tired so if you are looking for five star, head up the street and pay three times as much. But if you want to be a few steps from the sand, stay here. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Locaion, Location, Location.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The reception lady was very friendly and sign in was easy. The location was wonderful. We wanted to be on the beach and we were 20 steps from the beach. The room was spacious, the sheets clean but the bed spray dated from the 50's. Not nice at all. Bathroom was old but clean. Enough towels. Fridge worked well and microwave oven worked well. The air con and fan worked well but the on the outside the air cons look horrible and rusted. Outside surroundings were clean and all BBQ's were clean. The outside furniture were comfortable but horribly looking and you do not want to sit on it. Needs to be replaced 5 years ago already. This is an old motel. Not a favorite place to go to but it served it's purpose of being on the beach where we wanted to be. If you're hungry don't try the restaurants next door. Both had a waiting time of 1 hour 45 minutes. We left and went to the local Del Mar Fish Market. Wonderful, good service, fresh fish and no waiting time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice beach

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Whoever the maid service is...I never saw them, but they did an excellent job keeping our linens changed and straightening up the room. Ted was great
Cons: Maybe offering coupons for nearby restaurants or free waters would help. Just an intense cleaning and fresh bedspreads would help
Location: Good spot on the beach...nice walks...restaurants close by.
The desk clerk who checked us in was less than enthusiastic which made first impressions rough. He was more interested in going over the "rules" than he was welcoming. I found out later that their were beach chairs, umbrellas and towels available for use but he never mentioned it. He also never mentioned that we could get coffee in the lobby. Our room smelled like intense old cleaning solutions...It was "ok" but the dust boards throughout were very dirty. The bedspread was very old and worn out. The sound of other people walking upstairs throughout the night was so loud you had to turn on the a/c to drown out the noise. The filter was dirty so we cleaned it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels