Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and within walking distance of most other locations needed - shopping, food.
Cons: More flexible check in time, computer to check flight status, perhaps WiFi in the rooms
Location: Right on the beach, Crystal Pier (?) nearby, within walking distance of almost anything needed - food, shopping, national drugstore
I got to the hotel after a 20-30 shared-ride shuttle from the airport. The driver mentioned there are various restaurants nearby, and they're within walking distance of the hotel, both national chains and more local sounding. The hotel is across the street from the beach including rooms on the one side with balconies overlooking the beach. I arrived late morning and the check in time seems to be strict at 3:00 PM. I carried my bag with me across the street and walked on the beach for a short time. Then walked to lunch passing a large national drugstore offering food, sunblock lotions, a pharmacy and OTC meds, alcohol, seasonal items, etc. Walked back and changed clothes in the public restroom to spend more time on the beach (still had over an hour before check in, would have been nice to be able to check in, change clothes, and leave my bag at the room rather than carry it with me along the beach). Several more restaurants and tourist shops along the beach. I checked in at 3:00 and the process was straightforward. The room was clean and comfortable though a bit dated. A kitchenette was included. Went out to the beach again and stayed out until sunset, having dinner at one of the local restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hemet, Ca

Perfect stay at the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: It was right on the water. And the staff was absolutely wonderful and helpful.
Cons: It didn't have air conditioning. However we didn't need it. Opened all the windows and outside weather was perfect.
Location: Walked to the beach. Really close to the shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice hotel, friendly staff. Great location. unfortunately the ac didn't work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Terrible customer service

Posted Sep 9, 2016
They convinced me the room was nice and they avoided for me wanting to see it before i checked in, finallynwhen i did the room was very hot and smelled moldy. No air-conditioning.... cancelled there and stayed at one of thier sister properties which was decent for 2 nights. I would never recommend diamondhead inn to anyone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Bad Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing. Well the best thing about this hotel was when we checked out the next morning.
Cons: Staff attitude, clean the rooms, install AC in the rooms, make no smoking areas around the doors and windows of the rooms and empty the trash often.
Location: Location was great.
Room was too hot and humid for anyone to stay in, no AC to cool it off, had to run a fan with the window's open then people were standing outside our room smoking so we had to close the window's. When we walked in the room the first thing we saw was big stains on the carpet. I reserved this room for me and my wife on line (for 2) and there was only one towel for us to use. The staff person that checked us in only said about four or five words to use almost like he did not wanted us to be their. There was nowhere to park and the staff person said we could park at a different hotel. Just outside our room the trash can was over flowing and all over the ground.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Only for dedicated surfers.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Even though prepaid room, they secretly added a $50.00 surcharge for some unknown reason. Never stay there again. Dishonest! WRD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review July 2016

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Close to the beach. No AC but we knew this. Unfortunately, we had both ceiling fans on and brought 3 fans and it was still warm. We lucked out with a parking spot on day one but lost it when we went to dinner on day 3. Parking is a pain. Having to park at a sister hotel is not guest friendly especially with kids. Ok visit overall but won't be back. You just paying for the location with this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Perfect location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This hotel always seems to have the best rates for a place with a kitchen that is right on the beach. We love staying here every time we visit San Diego. It has great access to the water and we can bring home leftovers from meals and reheat them in the kitchen for lunch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The staff was very friendly. The hotel was in an excellent location. Walking distance to beach, restaurants, and shopping.
2 out of 5
by jacque

Wouldn't stay again

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Had to move rooms we were in street level no screen on window public walk by didn't feel safe leaving window open yet room was so hot we had to change rooms.