Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wpg, MB

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Very nice hotel for the price. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Cajon, CA

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: It was close. I was never in the room - I had booked it for several nights for family in town.
Cons: Yes the STAFF!!
It was the most difficult & time consuming check-in I've ever experienced. The staff was rude! The couple at the counter next to me was getting a hard time from the staff also. Customer service is the only thing that sets one business from another and I will never go to Econo Lodge again even though I live just a block away and have booked people there many times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good for cheap price

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The first room we had was horrible smelled like cat piss so we asked to change our room and our second room was a lot nice. The pool was fun and the jacuzzi was nice. For the price you are paying it's a pretty nice hotel. It's 20 to 25 mins away for the city so that was kind of annoying but still nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Hotel was ok would recommend

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Ok for a place to stay over night . They do ask for a 100 dollar deposit . If you do not have it they will not let you stay even if you have already paid for the room on Expedia. You can put it on a credit card but they said it will take several days to come off the card
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Not bad for the price...

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The room wasn't that bad but I didn't like the bed was not comfort the carpet was definitely need shampoo.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect

Posted Jan 13, 2017
this hotel is not what i thought it would be.. after reading reviews, I chose a different hotel, but my friend insisted they weren't correct, so I decided to stay at the Econolodge..... It was very nice, the bed was super comfy, the towels are big and the room smelled great. the staff was very helpful and the check in and out was quick and easy. No problem getting my deposit back...... Nice find
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Front desk staff Marlyn was very rude, not helpful at all, unprofessional and no costumer service skills. Microwave didn't work, hairdryer didn't work and marlyn was not helpful at all in getting these items replaced. We will not return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by c, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I apologize you felt our staff was rude, we will work with her by providing additional training. We apologize for your microwave not working, I hope you would give us another try. Sincerely Chetan Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
I checked into this El Cajon Econo Lodge on a Saturday afternoon at 3:30p, and after a neccessary first request of seeing if my room could be relocated within the first hour and a half of my stay due to the continued loud ruckus of young children and their parents in the room next to me, the next room I was moved to seemed to have multiple run down accommodations which couldn't be looked past (burned out light bulbs, television that had no cable, door that wouldn't lock completely, dust on all flat surfaces, plugs unplugged.) Although I could only bare to stay on site for a total of 3.5 hours (and still did not use one amenity), I was not refunded any of my $65.00 paid, although did receive my 100.00 deposit back immediately which fortunately was paid for in cash. This feels like a place in which many, if not most, of those who are staying there actually live there for extended periods of time. Each time I was outside of my room, either to go to my vehicle or the office, there were at least 2 - 3 people outside, standing in the parking lot smoking and just hanging out like an apartment complex or off campus dormitory. I did not feel comfortable or safe to stay there which is why I was forced to find more appropriate accommodations in a safer location. Ended up getting another last minute hotel which cost me $78.00 and so learned a hard lesson: Pay slightly more the first time to avoid unnecessary headache, uneasiness and loss of personal funds!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I do apologize for the noise issue from another family staying near by. We have a maximum stay of 14 nights at our hotel. We don't have permanent residence at the hotel. We thank you for your business. Sincerely Chetan Patel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your rating, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next visit. Sincerely Chetan Patel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your ratings, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego area, Sincerely Chetan Patel