Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Feb 7, 2016
It was clean enough but VERY loud from the traffic on I-5. The pool wasn't clean or heated due to winter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by HANNA, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your comments about your recent stay. We use all feedback constructively and will use your suggestions to better our facility and services. We hope to see you soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, clean, safe hotel, highly recommend!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
We really enjoyed staying here as a family for 2 nights. The hotel is clean, safe, quiet and a good value with a decent breakfast included and laundry services available for those who need/want it (we did).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by HANNA, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review ! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our desk manager.We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate, Room was giant.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Convenient and reasonably priced.
Could use some updating and deep cleaning. Breakfast room is overly crowded and needs some more selections (bananas? yogurt?). One waffle iron is not enough and there is no space to move around and get to things when many people are there. Pool was dirty, but it was off season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by Hanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review . Sorry about breakfast room is overly crowded.We are committed to provide best service that our guest expect .Thank you again , we look forward to seeing you on your next trip .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central PA

Excellent value.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: This Econo Lodge was probably built years ago, but you'd never know it. The beds, carpets, furniture and bath fixtures were modern and very nice.
Location: Downtown Carlsbad and Oceanside are nearby, and the beaches are very nice. Don't miss the Oceanside pier and state beach.
A great home-base for our Oceanside, Carlsbad and San Diego trips. Location was ideal, but California really should invest in a noise barrier for highway I-5, it is extremely close to the hotel. We coped with the road noise by using the fan and light music. Having I-5 so close came in handy for quick access to other places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by HANNA, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Comfortable stay

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Close to shopping and La Jolla/San Diego destinations.
Cons: A larger seating area for continental breakfast. Seating for about 10 guests only and no items are allowed to be taken into guest rooms.
Location: Good location - shopping, dining within short drive.
My husband and I had a family event to attend in La Jolla and found the prices for lodging in that area too expensive. The few extra miles of travel and money saved made it well worth staying at the Econo-Lodge in Carlsbad. The beds were comfortable, there was a microwave and fridge in the room, and there was plenty of water pressure in the shower. A local shopping mall and several popular eateries are within a 10-minute drive. It is also located along the frontage road of the freeway, which is handy, although there is traffic noise. However, with the room heater or AC fan on in the room, we were not bothered by traffic noise. There is also a simple continental breakfast available on the property. It is very basic - just enough to stop your stomach from growling first thing in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Very close to Legoland. Comfortable room with refrigerator & microwave. The suite layout was a little weird and housekeeping needs to be a little more vigilant in replacing soap/shampoo, etc. But, overall, a good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach, calm neighborhood

Posted Nov 17, 2015
The hotel is Located in a nice neighborhood and close to the beach. They Could have more included in the breakfast, but they did have fresh waffles. The Room was large and kept clean. All parking is close to rooms and vehicles easily seen from windows. There are Grocery store, freeway, and restaurants all near by. Located near a very nice beach with many shops and great scenery. The staff were nice and accommodating. Good price for the location. We would recommend to anyone who wants a good price and decently close to the beach and who wants to feel secure and comfortable with the location and neighborhood, but Does not want to stay right on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice hotel close to Legoland and the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: The location of the hotel and the price.
Cons: The free breakfast could be improved adding a little bit more selection and food quality.
Location: The hotel is very close to the beach. The hotel is also close to the Carlsbad outlets and to Legoland.
We stayed two nights at the hotel while visiting Legoland. The hotel is very close to the theme park and it is easy to reach from the 5 fwy. The rooms as big and clean. The parking is ample and very convenient. There are places to eat close by. The only inconvenient is the noise from the freeway, specially if you are sensitive to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Crysten

Great Stay

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
We are a family of 4 and stayed here after a long day at Legoland which is only about 5 minutes away if that. Staff was friendly quiet area room was very clean and close to dowtown carlsbad which is very nice on the beach and great food. Would stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本・千葉

ビジネス、旅行に便利

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: ひかくてき安価な割に、部屋が広いのが良いです。
Cons: 部屋にもう一つか二つ、明かりがほしいです。
Location: サンディエゴや、その北の VIsta、サンディエゴ空港に行くには便利な場所です。サンディエゴ動物園は、一度は行ってみたいところです。
ロサンゼルスからI-5を南に下ってゆくと、サンディエゴまで20-30分程度の距離にあります。フリーウェイ を下りて3-4分に位置し、近くにスーパーマーケットやガソリンスタンド、コンビニもあって、比較的便利な場所にあります。中級のホテルで、部屋は広く、ストレスを感じません。朝食込みで、簡単なものばかりですが、軽く食べるには十分です。