Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The hotel was very good for the price, breakfast very limited.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Better than I feared

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, free internet worked fine.
Cons: AC was quite loud and would stop working if run too long.
Location: Right next to a grocery store, lots of food delivery options nearby. Easy Uber pick-up.
I was nervous about choosing this hotel because there were so many bad reviews, but it was the closest one to the relatives I was visiting, so I went ahead and booked. It was definitely not as bad as I was afraid it would be! The outside is old and somewhat rundown, but inside, my room was perfectly clean and nicely up to date. I always check for bedbugs; the mattress was in a good quality cover and there was no sign of creepy-crawlies. The internet worked fine, didn't try the TV. Water pressure was fine. Air conditioner was loud, but worked. Had to call the front desk in order to use the room phone. This whole mess in the reviews about the room deposit--I don't know why people are so upset. It's pretty standard procedure, I've found, for hotels to put a deposit on your card in case of damage. During this last trip I stayed at this cheap EconoLodge, a mid-range Wyndham, and the Hard Rock Hotel. The man at the EconoLodge said he wouldn't charge me the deposit (he was very nice). The Wyndham put a $50 deposit on my card, the Hard Rock put a $100 deposit. Neither advertised that they charged one, though the EconoLodge does state it if you actually read through the text.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by qinghai

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't liked the hotel, the room was small, it smelled bad,the breakfast was not good they give a small cup of coffee with a small and hard muffin it tasted like old bread,it wasn't worth the money I paid
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Only if you have nowhere else to stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This is an old hotel. All rooms r smoking, despite advertised special as non-smoking. Free BF is coffee & a pastry. Free Wifi & Parking a +. Front Desk & Houskeeping staff were fine. Cigarette burns in furniture & bedspread. Bed comfy w/ clean sheets. Bathroom needs patching up & painting. AC noisy but needed to circulate old cigarette odors. Would not stay here again, esp w/ my son w/ me...great price but not worth it
3 out of 5
by Beth

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
The house keeping was excellent. Breakfast ok, mainly pastries. If I'd known the neighborhood was that bad I definitely wouldn't have stayed there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!!

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los altos, ca

Budget prices without budget amenities.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Nice little hotel where you can get a good night sleep without too much fuss. Sure, this isn't the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in, but for the hotel class, it fits the bill. Room was clean and quiet. Beds are comfortable--which is especially important to note because I've sometimes slept in some really lumpy beds in other hotels in the same cost/class. Really close to the San Diego zoo, so that's a plus. Easy access to the freeway so you can get to other things too. Only a 30 minute drive from the Sleep Train Amphitheater. A grocery store is next door, so hotel snacks aren't too far away. Plus this place as a proper fridge with dedicated freezer in the room (mini size). Most mini fridges just have that shelf that is supposedly a freezer...the one in my room was the real deal. Only issue I ran into was the lack of parking. Upon returning from a concert in Chula Vista, there were literally no parking spots in the lot. Thankfully the front desk was able to sort it out...but it seems like there are enough parking spots for each room...so maybe they need to have a 1 car per room policy?