Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate with plenty of space, good location.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Clean, older but well maintained, adequate and good location. Only real negative is no parking on site but plenty of street parking or garage about 2 blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Nice quaint hotel, very comfortable, quiet room. Easy and quick check-in and check-out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Noisy but great location!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Great hotel, perfect location! Right in the heart of San Diego. My only complaint would be that the restaurant on site is so loud. No nagger what time of day. If your looking to get to sleep around 9 this isn't the place for you. Noise started as early as 5-6 am because they would be cleaning and prepping and I just needed some sleep to catch my flight in the morning. Other than that I loved it and I do plan to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Close to beach.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Close to beach. Parking inconvenient. Have to walk a few blocks to pay for parking at bank garage or in street. Parking in street hard to find. Upstairs rooms steep stairs outside. Steep stairs. No access to elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario, Canada

Great Mexican themed hotel, close to everything

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Hotel was awesome. Mexican themed, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, great ambience. Three restaurants attached. Lovely courtyards and clean alley ways made exploring fun. Staff super friendly and efficient. Cool art gallery right behind and souvenir, book stores, shops and restaurants a short walk. Less than 5 minute walk to beach and iconic del Coronado. Would definitely go back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go there

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down
Location: Location is excellent
The carpets were damp The heating was outdated and lousy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East coast

Noisy rustic hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a nice location, close to the beach and restaruants.
Cons: Sound insulation woudl make a big difference.
Location: Play on the beach; rent bikes and travel around the island or take a ferry to mainland, shop, eat; participate in wine-and-paint in local art gallery.
The hotel is pretty from the outside, but inside it is VERY rustic. We agered to an upgrade to a sweet, but specifically asked the staff to put us in a quet room. Instead, we ended up in rooms facing either a busy intersection or restaruant patio. The toilet was leaking, the kitchen drawers were very old and did not open easily, there were holes in some plastic fixtures. The worst thing about the hotel was the noise, there is no sound insulation at all. The hotel is on a busy intersection with restaurants and bars all around and a navy base with jets flying nearby. I nthe room, you can here everything through the windows! At midnight on Thursday and 5 am on Saturday someone started cleaning something on the outside using a very loud compressor. Every time the neighbours leave theirs rooms, the doors slam! My husband and I could not get a good night sleep for the duration of our 4-night stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Tv's in rooms didn't work, loud area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Quaint hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint, Charming older style hotel, guest rooms intermingled with several small businesses on first floor, open courtyard, with restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was a good one. One thing to note, the laundry on site is coin operated, which will cost a total about $3 for 1 wash + 1 Dry, BUT there is no change machine and the front desk may not have change. So have some of your own. My girlfriend called this place cute, I call it small, but with the town right there, who cares!