Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This hotel has a lot going for it. Very cute building. I like the Chula Vista location. The main drawback for me was the lack of sound insulation. I realize it's an old building but you can clearly hear your neighbors talking ( or coughing in my case) and the street noise. It is a great price. And the breakfast area is very nice. It is just that the rating here does not reflect the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

free parking, nice room

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: free parking, conformable room
madam is sooooo nice! i arrived very late, but she was very friendly, never showed any unhappiness! although i can see that she is also very tired. thanks very much!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redlands, CA

Bathroom/shower tile dirty.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Proximity to final destination.
Cons: Clean up the tile.
Location: All of San Diego is close.
The tile in the bathroom shower areas were dirty. The room was rather small, but clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penticton, B.C. Canada

Nice Hotel, very friendly owners and staff.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Great value, right down town.
Location: Close to shops and restuarants
Very warm and welcoming, the breakfast is one of the best we ever had at a BB. Hot bacon, sausages, eggs and great banana bread. The owners and staff make you feel very welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quaint hotel with local shopping and food.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The hotel is historic and affordable. The staff are excellent and hospitable. Waking early, there's a free breakfast offered from 7-10. Coffee, milk, and orange juice are available with bacon, sausage, and eggs. The fruits are served on plates of strawberry, guava, pineapple, watermelon, grapes, and other selections. Hard boiled eggs, English muffins, bagels, butter and sour cream are other choices. I would have given more stars, but forgot my pillow and recommend bringing your own. We're planning to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden Gem!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
The staff were excellent; very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the room was very charming!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quaint, cute, great location!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfast had fruits (mango, honey dew, strawberries, cantaloupe, etc), sausage, bacon, and omelette. Bagels, and cereals, orange juice
Cons: The front desk was not always occupied, because this is a family-run business. But that's ok, they do a great job otherwise
Location: It is in downtown, so everything is close
The room has everything that you will need, a blow dryer, body wash, conditioner, lotion, shampoo, and a lot of pillows. A tv and a closet, it is a bit small but very comfortable and quaint. Parking right by the hotel. Location is great. Everything is close by. Right across the street is a 711. The breakfast is a divine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Interesting history, reasonable accommodation

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was good. Good quality, fresh fruits, and a nice courtyard in which to enjoy it.
Cons: The lack of updating of some of the room features, and the very slow Wi-Fi service.
This B&B has a great history and story that are told in the many pictures and newspaper articles posted in the lobby. The hotel location gives a glimpse to the heart of Chula Vista that would otherwise be missed if staying in the newer outlying areas of the city. The room and bathroom were clean and adequate in size but have not been appreciably updated as the building itself has been. The free Wi-Fi was slow to the point of impracticality and the shower could have used a light. Breakfast was served on a very comfortable courtyard next door to the hotel. The selection of food was adequate and the banana nut bread was particularly good. The staff was pleasant and attentive, though the weekend crowd kept them constantly replenishing during the peak breakfast hour. We were told that the hotel is booked most Fridays and Saturdays through the year. If this is true, then its guests must be both loyal returnees as well as one-time visitors like ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

EXCELLENT

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: DISTANCE
Cons: ICE AND WATER IN ROOM
Location: WEDDING
EVERY THING WAS PLEASANT AND GOOD,EXCELLENT. GOOD BREAKFAST
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Book It

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Charm of the hotel and its owner family.
Cons: Nothing
Believe all the positive reviews! I cannot add anything that has not already been said by others. This is a charming place with friendly people. If it fits in your plans, book it, you will not be disappointed.