Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff, worked out well

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: staff was very accommodating and the location
Cons: More selections for the continental breakfast
Location: walk to dinner, short drive to the shore
Booked this hotel based upon reviews and was very happy with it. We had many options for restaurants all within walking distant. Had to valet the car for $18.00 per night but staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was quite comfortable for my family of four with two grown children. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location,staff & very clean

Posted Aug 31, 2015
It is a gem of a place. Staff is outstanding,location is great and the breakfast included is very good!
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by jmajors@empress-hotel.com, EPC
Dear Guests, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Empress Hotel. I appreciate your mention of our staff and our morning continental breakfast. Thanks for staying with us! Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Joel Majors General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Very friendly staff

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, daily cookies, clean rooms.
Location: Very close to La Jolla shore - I suggest driving. Walking is about 25 minutes. We visited Legoland, SD Zoo and the Children's Pool while we were there
We feel so very welcome by the staff in the hotel. They are very nice and friendly. The daily cookies add a nice touch. We did not try the Italian restaurant at the lobby but everyday we passed by it just smell so ridiculously good! The room is very clean and they do a good job keeping up the daily housekeeping. They also have a nightly turn down and leave you chocolate and a card of the next day's weather on your bed. I feel very welcome and would not hesitate to stay again. We had no problem finding street parking and therefore did not pay for the $18 daily parking at the hotel. There are 1 hour to 3 hours parking on the street. We did stay during the week and school has started at San Diego area so that might be why.
Comment from EPC
Aug 25, 2015 by jmajors@empress-hotel.com, EPC
Dear Guest, It is our ultimate goal for all of our guests to feel comfortable and welcome at the Empress Hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed our fresh baked cookies and that you liked your room and the amenities that we provide. We do offer 24-Hour Valet Parking for our guests but street parking is available as well. Thanks so much for staying with us! We appreciate your review. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Joel Majors General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing town. Clean comfortable hotel, EXCELLENT staff - very helpful with directions, suggestions for dining,etc. VERY attentive. Very friendly to our kids. Great place to stay! I will go back.
Comment from EPC
Aug 25, 2015 by jmajors@empress-hotel.com, EPC
Dear Guests, We are happy that you chose the Empress Hotel for your stay in La Jolla! I appreciate your mention of our excellent staff! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Joel Majors General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Everything was great!! From staff to complimentary breakfast to location. Amazing!
Location: Many cute shops nearby and restaurants. Close to La Jolla beach and cove. Also close to downtown san diego.
Staff was very nice and welcoming. Location is great, La Jolla is absolutely beautiful. Worth the money to stay here. Loved my stay at the Empress Hotel!
Comment from EPC
Aug 25, 2015 by jmajors@empress-hotel.com, EPC
Dear Guest, We are happy that you enjoyed yur stay at the Empress Hotel. La Jolla is truly beautiful and I am glad that you your time here. Thanks for your review. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Joel Majors General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Right in La Jolla.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Just a wonderful time. Hotel near great restaurants. 30 mins from San Diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Tx

Comfortable, clean & centrally located!

Posted Jul 30, 2015
My wife and I loved our stay! It's a short walk to the ocean and very close to some great restaurants! The staff was kind and friendly! Comfortable beds. The continental breakfast was a nice plus!!
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by jmajors@empress-hotel.com, EPC
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mention we are just a short walk to the beach and to many great restaurants in La Jolla. I appreciate your mention of our staff and I am happy that you enjoyed our comfortable beds! Thanks for your review. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Joel Majors General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba, winnipeg

Great hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Great hotel, staff was very polite and helpful. They offer valet parking for 20$ a day I believe but if you'll be out for majority of the day just park on the street just be aware of the signs!!! Walking distances to stores, beach isn't too far either!! They have complimentary breakfast which was good. I really enjoyed my stay!!! I would stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel staff

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Room we stayed in seemed a little outdated and small for a party of 2 adults and 2 kids- but good enough. we didn't come to hang out in the hotel, anyway. free breakfast was nice. Approximately 3 blocks away from beach. within 10 minutes walk to shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Nice in town hoel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The whole experience.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We can to see the fireworks for the 4th of July which we could see clearly from our top floor room.
This is probably our 4th stay at the hotel. We have 2 small dogs and they cater to dogs. We had a 5th floor room with a king bed that was comfortable and there was plenty of room for all of us. We love the location and Manhattan, the 5 star Italian restaurant on the 1st floor.