Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place for a calm retreat.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The location can't be beat. Great menus at the restaurants.
Cons: More staff at the "welcome counter"
Location: Beach, walking trails and UCSD campus.
Check-in was not smooth. Long line of guests waited while one person worked the desk. We watched other employees move behind desk without making eye contact or addressing the lack of service. Thank goodness the room and resort redeemed the stay. Wonderful walking trails nearby. Food at all of the restaurants was a delicious surprise. Beautiful pool area. Exercise center equipment was clean and new.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Good Choice for UCSD

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to UCSD; nice rooms and facilities.
Cons: Front office staff was confused about the room keycards. Evidently a system conversion was in process, but required repeated trips to front desk.
Location: See above.
Have stayed there before. Good choice for meetings or business at UCSD or local golf courses. At some distance from La Jolla business districts, over roads that can be congested and confusing. 15 miles from downtown San Diego. Rooms and hotel facilities fine. Many rooms have outside garden entrances, which is charming most of the time but not so charming in the rare case when the weather isn't good (which we experienced this time).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely Hacienda with excellent location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: It fell very private and secluded from the noise and traffic outside of the property
Cons: The food was fine but could be improved. It was quite bland.
Location: Prime location, in the middle of the UC campus, close to Scipp's and only 10ms away from La Jolla
Very comfortable hotel and nice staff. Lovely grounds, gardens and pool with spa area. Nicely decorated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hotel and grounds were beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and clean, however the restaurant service was awful and the valet/front desk were understaffed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newport beach ca

Great staff berry accommodating

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Had a great time room was clean staff was nice and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Valley Center, CA

Classy

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Cons: Air conditioning units
The Estancia is a classy San Diego boutique hotel. They are re-doing the hotel. Be sure to request an upgraded room. The new rooms are much more airy and light feeling. Love the hotel staff here! They are always fabulous!!! Wish the air conditioners held temp better is all. Love the dining here. Great bar. Mustangs and Burrows is awesome and the breakfast is great too, every time! Awesome check in and valet staff always. Love the Fresh toiletries, wow! Nothing but goodness here every time! Other than, that, everything is fantastic and perfect and we will continue to return to the Estancia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Very clean, great staff, beautiful hotel, comfortable beds
The staff was pleasant and very accommodating from the minute we walked in the door. The location is very convenient and the grounds are beautiful. Loved the good smelling candles throughout the property! This is more of a romantic getaway or good for business, but fine for kids too with so many kid friendly options close by!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice property

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Check in was delayed though . They provided drinks comp at check in .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service Needs Improvement

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Landscape
Cons: Poor layout and very difficult to get to the room.
On the positive side, the property itself is quite charming in terms of the landscaping and the older style. The rooms are ok but nothing special. When we arrived we were offered sparkling wine which was nice but it was warm (I only took one sip). The hotel is a maze and the directions to the room were poor. It is the type of hotel where they really should walk you to your room as it really is a labyrinth. When we arrived, there was no one was there to assist with the bags and this was especially troublesome as the room was not accessible by elevator. When we were checking out, we called the front desk to get someone to pick up our bags and they never ever arrived so we took the bags to the front ourselves. Given the price point, I would not go back. One or two service blunders is acceptable but it seemed like everything with this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels