Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Spent only one night.. average hotel with to go breakfast items, close to downtown. Reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel and taking the time to share your experience online. I'm glad that our hotel was nice and comfortable for your stay and our location was convenient for your visit. We appreciate you recognizing us as a great value. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Posted Jan 20, 2017
It did the job for one night but probably wouldn't stay longer. Room had a strange smell and thin walls. There was very loud banging upstairs all night that went on for awhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. However, I apologize for the noise issues you experienced. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day so we would have been happy to address this issue if you had alerted us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to help out when needed. Room was great being able to cook supper each day- really saved money on eating out. And breakfast was minimal but did the trick. Coffee, oatmeal, muffins and granola bars is all my family needed. Would definitely stay here again. Hotel was also not very loud being close to the freeway- was easy to sleep, and our two young children slept very well also. Close access to the freeway made it easy to get around. There was also a grocery store right across the street- very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. We are thrilled to note your room with a kitchenette was perfect for your needs and that you found this aspect to be of a great value. It’s also good to know you loved our proximity to the freeway and courteous associates. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you and your family again soon! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newport beach ca

Good value. Great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Walked to village. Easy to get back on freeway.close to lego land and outlet shops
Large room, comfortable bed. Very ckean. Didn't use kitchen. This Motel is located directly behind Denny's so it's easy to grab something quick to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your delightful feedback of our hotel. Your positive comments about our proximity to the freeway and your well-appointed room are greatly appreciated. Thanks for choosing Extended Stay America-San Diego-Carlsbad Village by the Sea. We hope you are already planning another trip our way. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Watered down coffee and old muffin in a plastic bag does not constitute breakfast. About the worst ever morning experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for your feedback about our breakfast offerings, and we are sorry you were not happy with the choices. Your comments have been shared with our Brand Leaders to assist them when determining new breakfast offerings for future implementation. We hope you will come back to stay with us another time and hope our breakfast selections are more to your liking. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Price point and location only good things

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location only good thing about this property there was nothing else to write about
Cons: Cleanliness want up to standard. Shower dirty. Place stinks of smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your stay and for taking the time to leave feedback. It is great to read that you liked our convenient location. However, we regret that you faced cleanliness issues in your room. Your review will be discussed with the housekeeping team to make necessary corrections. We appreciate your comments and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Closed to the beach, restaurant nice area.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The kitchen, warm pool, closed to the beach.
Cons: I stayed three nights and I thought the maid is gone clean my room replace the bath stuff the bed sheets and garbage, nope not even with a request.
Location: Closed to the freeway, beach restaurant, pier.
The breakfast is very poor, bring a hair blow drier if you request one probably there is none available.they accept pets but they shouldn't let them running around the hall jumping on people,the room size is good, warm clean water pool,close to the beach, restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea for your stay. We are happy that you liked our convenient location which was perfect for your needs and your spacious room. However, we are sorry for the concerns you had while you were here. Please know your feedback will be shared with our staff so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Want to encounter many large dogs in the hallways?

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Dennies within a short walk. You will need it.
Many dogs inside and out. If you are a dog lover this is the place for you. Otherwise unremarkable except for the extremely poor breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy our location was perfect for your needs while in the San Diego area. We are a pet friendly hotel and apologize for any disruption this may have caused you during your stay. We want you to have a pleasant stay when you are here, so please consider staying with us again so you can have a better experience. Thank you, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liked the fact that I could walk to everything.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: I could walk to everything. Loved the beautiful beach and great fish and chips restaurant right at the beach.
Cons: Bed linens were not fresh.
Good restaurants nearby. Quiet even though the freeway is close. Double paned windows really help keep the noise level down, but you could not open them to get any fresh air inside. The AC worked great, though! One complaint: the bed sheets, pillows, and pillow cases were not as fresh smelling as they should have been. Brought my own pillow and cases, but I should not have to do that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. Our guests often comment about our convenient location near restaurants and shopping, so we're happy it worked out well for you, too. However, we are sorry for the issue you had with the bed and pillows in your room. We are very passionate about providing our guests with clean accommodations, and we apologize we fell short in this case. We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager to see where we went wrong so any necessary improvements to our processes can be made. Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

Great place every to stay in the village

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Had a nice stay ESA Carlsbad Village. Hotel is close to everything. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us a map of the area and made recommendations on where to eat. They were right on the mark. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea for your visit and for sharing your comments. We are happy you liked our convenient location and that you were impressed with our helpful associates who were attentive to all your needs. It was great to have you here, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager