Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't have room servise

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: near the beach....20 mns walking
Cons: room servise everyday....please....
Location: the beach
Extended Stay America-San Diego-Carlsbad Village by the Sea......don't have room servise.... I did not like warn me not have room servise.....spent 4 nights.....cleaning my own room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Not a fancy hotel, but very functional. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and it is in walking distance to Carlsbad Village. It was better than OK for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: air conditioning worked
Cons: cleanliness
Location: close enough to walk to beach. the locked back entrance was very inconvenient
the whole hotel smelled. the continental breakfast was a joke
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Good price and easy walk to old town Carlsbad

Posted Aug 5, 2015
We were planning a mini family reunion in Carlsbad. Couldn't afford the hotels directly on the beach so got this one. The room was clean, quiet and roomy.The staff went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. I will definitely stay here the next time we visit Carlsbad.
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by Manager, EPC
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you you enjoyed your clean, quiet and spacious room during your visit with us. As well, I'm so happy to hear that our staff provided you with great service. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another great stay in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for an over night stay

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We booked just for an over night stay. Everything was fine nothing special about the place. It was really close to Legoland so it made it really convenient to spend the day there then come to the hotel to rest. The "grab and go" breakfast go us going early in the morning.
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by Manager, EPC
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location and our grab-and-go breakfast during your visit with us. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monheim

Schönes Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Zimmer sehr geräumig, es gab entspr. Küchenequipement kostenlos an der Rezeption. Ausserdem jederzeit Pool Handtücher, nettes hilfsbereites Personal
Cons: Zimmerservice sollte bei dem Preis schon inclusive sein, hätte aber pro Tag und Zimmer nochmal 10 Dollar gekostet...
Location: Zentrale Lage, allerdings ist der Highway laut... ca. 15 Minuten bis zum Strand, sehr schön!
Schöne große Zimmer mit separater Küchenzeile! Der Pool war bei den Kindern sehr beliebt. Wir würden dieses Hotel weiterempfehlen und jederzeit wieder buchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redondo beach CA

Acceptably clean room & walkable, residential area

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Room was moderately updated; acceptably clean as expected. Location was 1/2 mile or less to several restaurants. Walkable, safe, neighborhood-like area. Kitchen amenities are convenient, but you need to request plates etc if you need them. Limited but adequate to-go breakfast was instant oatmeal and cocoa; coffee; muffins, bars, fruit. Front desk people: quick, friendly, efficient and thorough. Simple checkin process and she wrote down wifi password, breakfast times on card case, eliminating the need for me to ask later. Very clever! Stayed with my 6 yr old son for 2 day Legoland trip and would use this place again when price is right.
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by Manager, EPC
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am happy that the front desk made your check in simple, quick and easy with all the information you needed. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not a lot to recommend here

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: It is located near downtown Carlsbad, which is a charming little community.
Cons: Need more than 150 characters.
Location: Excellent nearby restaurants, a short walk to the beach
To start, nobody was at the check-in desk for 15 minutes...even though it was 7 p.m. The room had sheets on the bed that were about as soft as my blue jeans. And the sand paper-like bathroom towels were, no joke, the roughest towels I've ever experienced. Maybe they weren't really towels. The outside windows were filthy, although they did block a gorgeous view of the freeway. Finally, one of the lamps didn't work, and after flushing the toilet, it made deep, mysterious sounds for about 10 minutes. No kidding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent for families......

Posted Jun 16, 2015
They are a touch stingy on soap & shampoo/conditioner. The staff is very pleasant, willing to go out of their way to assist you. Sarah at the front desk is great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and Smokey

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: take your pick
this hotel was dirty, the blankets smelled as if they had not been changed, no soap in the bathroom, the whole place was smokey, guests fighting in the middle of the night...disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The smoke odors and cleanliness issues you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company's high standards, we will be reviewing our room cleaning and laundry procedures moving forward. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.